Velletta & Company, litigation lawyers

在诉讼中你能期待什么?

诉讼的时机很难预测。这取决于许多事情,包括被告采取的行动,法庭时间表和原告作出的决定。在人身伤害诉讼中,恢复或医疗所需的时间长短将改变诉讼所需的时间。诉讼可能需要两年或更长时间来解决或审判。

放弃

虽然诉讼可能需要不同的时间,但大多数诉讼都经历了相同的基本步骤,尽管并不总是以相同的顺序。有些诉讼会跳过一些步骤,有些步骤会重复多次。

此处列出的步骤是诉讼中发生的主要步骤。他们会让您大致了解会发生什么。

1.收集事实

在我们客户的帮助下,我们收集有关索赔的所有可用事实,包括面谈和接受证人的陈述。我们收集与客户可能拥有的诉讼相关的文件,或者我们从第三方(如医生)订购文件。我们有时雇用调查员或专家来帮助我们,所以这一步可能涉及费用。这种事实的收集有助于我们评估在客户案件中最好采取的行动方式以及诉讼可能涉及的奖励或费用。

2.启动诉讼

在诉讼中代理原告时,我们通过准备必要的法庭文件并在法庭上提交诉讼来开始诉讼。这意味着法院将所有文件副本加盖日期,并保留一份正式记录。然后,我们将提交的副本交给被告的律师。这一步还涉及费用,如法院申请费和为被告提供文件的费用。

如果我们的客户是被告,我们的客户如果针对他们采取了行动,他们将会向他们提供其中一份文件。在这种情况下,我们会准备必要的文件来代表我们的客户回应诉讼。

一旦诉讼开始,严格的时间表适用于诉讼的各个阶段。然而,虽然一些诉讼可能会迅速进展并迅速解决,但其他诉讼则需要更多时间。

3.临时申请

诉讼开始后,但在审判前,原告或被告的律师有时需要请求法院裁决某些事情。上法庭要求下订单称为临时申请。这些临时申请通常涉及如何处理诉讼。例如,如果我们代表原告,我们可能会要求法院命令被告向我们出示一份被告人不愿意让我们看到的特定信件或文件。同样,被告可以提出并申请查看临床记录或我们可能拒绝向他们披露的文件。这些申请涉及法院申请费等费用。在某些诉讼中,不需要申请。

4.发现考试

收集事实后,原告或被告的律师安排检查发现。如果我们代表原告人,在对被告人的发现进行审查时,我们会对被告人宣誓就此事故提出质疑。我们还会要求被告向我们出示被告有哪些相关文件,并告诉我们他或她曾经拥有或有权获得的所有相关文件。如果对原告进行审查,原告的律师会向被告提供与诉讼有关的文件的副本,而原告则描述他或她曾经拥有或有权获得的所有相关文件。在某些诉讼中,可能没有必要审查原告或被告。聘请法院记者和检查发现地点需要付费。

5.审查法律

一旦我们了解了所有事实,我们就会审查法律。然后,我们向客户提供法律意见,了解审判的可能结果是什么,以及我们的客户可以在判决或和解中获得或支付多少钱。我们提供的建议是,我们是否认为提起诉讼是一种谨慎的行动方式,合理的解决方案是什么,或者我们的客户是否应该进行审判而不是解决。我们还建议哪种流程最适合解决争议。可以利用若干流程来解决诉讼,调解,仲裁和审判等诉讼。所有这些过程都涉及费用。

6.谈判和解决

如果合适,我们会与对方的律师讨论是否可以达成和解。和解是诉讼各方之间达成的协议,其中规定了如何解决索赔。如果索赔得到解决,则不会进行审判。在大多数情况下,结算往往是最佳选择,因为它会降低法律成本,压力和延迟。有时候,和解不符合我们客户的最佳利益,然后我们会建议他们进行审判。可以利用几个过程来达成和解。您的律师可以讨论所涉及的选项和费用。

7.准备审判

如果证明有必要进行审判,我们会准备案件进行审判,包括将所有必要文件放在一起,安排证人和专家证人出席,以及准备任何法律意见。

8.审判

如果在预定的审判日期之前未达成和解,我们将在审判时代表我们的客户。这是一个非常昂贵的步骤,特别是如果要求专家参加并在审判时提供意见证据。法院费用也包含在此步骤中。当法官判决可能是审判后几天,几周或几个月的案件时,我们准备法院命令让法官签署,或者如果由另一方的律师起草,则批准判决,以确保是正确的。

9.完成索赔

在判决后,我们努力完成索赔。这包括在我们扣除我们的费用和开支后,通过和解或判断向我们的客户提供资金,或者如果我们的客户需要支付判决和法律费用,我们会帮助我们的客户与另一方的律师安排。

诸如强制执行或上诉法院判决等新步骤通常需要与您的律师签订新协议。如果您聘请律师代表您支付或有费用安排,这些新步骤将不包括在该费用中,律师的小时费率通常适用。执行判决意味着启动程序以迫使被告实际支付他或她被命令支付的费用。对判决提出上诉意味着开始工作以让上级法院改变原审法院的判决。

您的律师将在您诉讼的每个步骤中与您合作,向您提供建议,并向您解释在诉讼的每个阶段您的最佳行动方案。如果您对您的诉讼有任何疑问,请咨询您的律师。

我们期待与您合作,以最好地解决您的法律状况。

改编自2002年11月不列颠哥伦比亚省法律协会,由Velletta&Company增设。

Velletta & Company, litigation lawyers

What Can You Expect in a Lawsuit?

The timing of a lawsuit is difficult to predict. It depends on many things, including actions the Defendant takes, court schedules, and decisions the Plaintiff makes. In a personal injury lawsuit, the length of time recovery or medical treatment takes will change the length of time that a lawsuit takes. A lawsuit can take up to two years or longer to settle or go to trial.

Disclaimer

While lawsuits can take different lengths of time, most lawsuits go through the same basic steps, although not always in the same order. Some lawsuits skip some steps, and some steps are repeated many times over.

The steps listed here are the main steps that occur in a lawsuit. They will give you a general idea of what to expect.

1. Gathering the Facts

With our client’s help, we gather all the available facts concerning the claim, including interviewing and taking statements from witnesses. We gather documents that are relevant to the lawsuit that our client might have or we order the documents from third parties such as doctors. We sometimes hire investigators or experts to help us, so this step can involve expenses. This gathering of facts helps us to assess what course of action is best to take in our client’s case and what award or expense might be involved in the lawsuit.

2. Starting the Lawsuit

When acting for the Plaintiff in a lawsuit, we begin the lawsuit by preparing the necessary court documents and filing them in court. This means the court date-stamps all copies of the documents, keeping one copy for their official record. We then deliver filed copies to the Defendant’s lawyers. This step also involves expenses such as court filing fees and fees for serving defendants with the documents.

If our client is the Defendant, our client would have one of these documents served on them if an action is commenced against them. In that case, we would prepare the necessary documents to respond to the lawsuit on behalf of our client.

Once a lawsuit is commenced, strict timelines apply at the various stages of the lawsuit. However, while some lawsuits may progress and resolve quickly, others take much more time.

3. Interim Applications

After a lawsuit is commenced, but before trial, the Plaintiff’s or the Defendant’s lawyers sometimes need to ask the court to decide certain things. Going to court to ask for an order is called an interim application. These interim applications are usually about how the lawsuit should be handled. For example, if we are representing the Plaintiff, we might ask the court to order that the Defendant show us a particular letter or document that the Defendant would rather not let us see. Likewise, the Defendant might make and application to see clinical records or a document that we may have refused to disclose to them. These applications involve expenses like court filing fees. In some lawsuits no applications are required.

4. Examination for Discovery

After gathering the facts, either the Plaintiff’s or the Defendant’s lawyers arrange an examination for discovery. If we represent the Plaintiff, at the examination for discovery of the Defendant we question the Defendant under oath about the accident. We would also ask the Defendant to show us what relevant documents the Defendant has, and to tell us about all relevant documents he or she has ever owned or had access to. If the Plaintiff is examined, the Plaintiff’s lawyer gives the Defendant copies of the documents related to the lawsuit, and the Plaintiff describes all relevant documents he or she once had, or had access to. In some lawsuits it may not be necessary to examine the Plaintiff or Defendant. There are costs for hiring a court reporter and a location for the examination for discovery.

5. Review of the Law

Once we have a good idea of all the facts, we review the law. We then give our client our legal opinion about what the likely outcome of a trial would be, and how much money our client can expect to receive or pay in a judgement or settlement. We give advice about whether we think offering to settle the lawsuit is a prudent course of action and what a reasonable settlement would be or if our client should proceed to trial rather than settling. We would also advise what process might be best for resolving the dispute. Several processes can be utilized for resolving lawsuits such as negotiation, mediation, arbitration, and trial. All of these processes involve expense.

6. Negotiation and Settlement

When it is appropriate, we talk with the other party’s lawyers to see if a settlement is possible. A settlement is an agreement between the parties to a lawsuit, which sets out how they will resolve the claim. If the claim is settled, it does not go to trial. Settlement tends to be the best option in most cases, as it will lead to less legal costs, stress, and delay. Sometimes though, settlement is not in our client’s best interest and we will then advise them to proceed to trial. Several processes can be utilized to reach settlements. Your lawyer may discuss options and expenses involved.

7. Preparation for Trial

If it proves necessary to proceed to trial, we prepare the case for trial, including getting all the necessary documents together, arranging for witnesses and expert witnesses to attend, and preparing any legal opinions.

8. Trial

If settlement is not reached by the date scheduled for trial, we act for our client at the trial. This is an extremely expensive step, especially if experts are required to attend and give opinion evidence at trial. Court fees are also involved at this step. When the judge has decided the case, which could be a few days, weeks, or months after the trial, we prepare the court order for the judge to sign, or approve the judgement if drafted by the other party’s lawyer, to make sure it is correct.

9. Completing the Claim

After judgement we work to complete the claim. This includes giving our client money from a settlement or judgment, after we have deducted our fees and expenses, or if our client is required to pay a judgement and legal costs, we help our client arrange this with the other party’s lawyer.

New steps such as enforcing or appealing a court judgment are matters for which a new agreement with your lawyer is usually required. If you have retained a lawyer to represent you with a contingent fee arrangement, these new steps would not be included in that fee and the lawyer’s hourly rate would usually apply. To enforce a judgment means to start proceedings to force the Defendant to actually pay what he or she has been ordered to pay. To appeal a judgment means to start work to get a higher court to change the original court’s judgment.

Your lawyer will work with you at each of the steps in your lawsuit to provide you with advice and explain to you what your best course of action is at each stage of the lawsuit. If you ever have questions about your lawsuit please ask your lawyer.

We look forward to working with you to best resolve your legal situation.

Adapted from the Law Society of British Columbia, November 2002, with additions by Velletta & Company.