创伤性脑损伤和无家可归

一个 最近发表的加拿大研究 揭示了无家可归与创伤性脑损伤之间惊人的高度相关性。该研究由多伦多圣迈克尔医院头部损伤诊所,加拿大卫生研究院和安大略神经创伤基金会资助。

这项研究涉及筛查111名男性,他们都是多伦多无家可归者收容所的居民,因为脑损伤。研究结果如下:

  • 45%的参与者对脑损伤有阳性筛查结果;
  • 在45%的受访者中,73%的受访者表示他们在成年之前首次受伤;和
  • 87%的人报告在无家可归者发生前首次头部受伤。

造成伤害的原因如下:

  • 66%的受访者表示,通过殴打至少造成一次创伤性脑损伤;
  • 44%的人因运动或娱乐活动而遭受创伤性脑损伤;
  • 由于机动车事故,42%的人遭受了创伤性脑损伤;和
  • 摔倒导致42%的人受伤。

这是一项相对较小的研究(111名参与者),但数据似乎表明无家可归与创伤性脑损伤之间存在很强的相关性。这些数据不能用于显示因果关系(即多伦多45%的住房人口因头部受伤直接导致无家可归);事实上,该研究的作者指出,对头部损伤的阳性筛查与可能的无家可归的其他社会指标相关,包括精神疾病或父母药物滥用史。该研究的结论是,需要进一步的研究来研究“无家可归,创伤性脑损伤,精神疾病和物质使用之间复杂的相互作用。“

这项研究以及该领域的进一步研究可能会显着改变我们社会中无家可归问题的解决方式,并改变我们对创伤性脑损伤的社会后果的思考方式。我们在侵权法和私人保险制度的有限领域内作为人身伤害律师的角色,是帮助受害方获得适当的照顾和赔偿 - 当然这样的研究向我们表明,所有参与者的利害关系都很高。

这是 该研究的链接,以及链接 新闻稿 来自圣迈克尔医院。

图片来源:Nick Page, https://www.flickr.com/photos/nicksie2008/8408266786/
ICBC claims advice, Velletta & Company
人身伤害法

工行索赔

The Insurance Corporation of British Columbia must be notified of every auto accident injury in BC. Notify ICBC of accidents which happen outside of BC

Read More »

Traumatic Brain Injury and Homelessness

A recently published Canadian study reveals a frighteningly high correlation between homelessness and traumatic brain injury.  This study was funded by the St. Michael’s Hospital Head Injury Clinic in Toronto, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation.

This study involved screening 111 men, all of whom were residents of a homeless shelter in Toronto, for brain injury.  The results of the study were that:

  • 45 percent of the participants had a positive screening result for brain injury;
  • Of that 45 percent, 73 percent reported their first injury before adulthood; and
  • 87 percent reported a first head injury before the onset of homelessness.

The causes of injury were broken down as follows:

  • 66 percent reported sustaining at least one traumatic brain injury by assault;
  • 44 percent suffered a traumatic brain injury as a result of sports or recreational activities;
  • 42 percent suffered a traumatic brain injury as a result of a motor vehicle accident; and
  • 42 percent suffered an injury as a result of a fall.

This was a relatively small study (111 participants), but the data appears to show a strong correlation between homelessness and traumatic brain injuries.  This data cannot be used to show causation (i.e., that 45% of the Toronto’s shelter population became homeless as a direct result of a head injury); indeed, the study’s authors indicate that a positive screening for a head injury correlates with what are presumably other social indicators of homelessness, including mental illness or parental history of substance abuse.  The study concludes that additional research is needed to study the “complex interactions among homelessness, traumatic brain injury, mental illness and substance use.”

This study, and further research in this field, may significantly change the way that homelessness is addressed in our society, and change the way we think about the social consequences of traumatic brain injury.  Our role as personal injury lawyers acting within the limited realms of our tort law and private insurance systems, is to assist injured parties in obtaining proper care and compensation – certainly studies like this one show us that the stakes are high for all involved.

Here is a link to the study, and  a link  to the press release from St. Michael’s Hospital.

Image Credit: Nick Page, https://www.flickr.com/photos/nicksie2008/8408266786/