中国工商银行福利的受伤,贫困和生活

在卑诗省机动车事故中受伤的各方可通过工商银行获得无过错伤残津贴并支付一些治疗费用。如果伤害是由另一名驾驶员造成的,那么受伤方可以提起诉讼以追回其额外损失。实际上,根据经济状况的不同,这对个人来说可能会有很大不同。由于许多复合因素,在机动车事故中受伤之前几乎没有被刮过的各方处于相对劣势,因为这些政党可以获得储蓄或外部收入来源。

让我们想象一下Sam的情况。 Sam是三口之家中唯一的养家糊口者,并且每年赚取40,000美元。经过税收和扣除后,Sam的家庭每个月的生活费约为3,000美元。山姆住在维多利亚州,两卧室公寓的平均租金在那里 维多利亚基金会最近的一份报告 是1,076美元。山姆正在发生机动车事故。作为维多利亚州的低工资收入者,Sam无法获得私人残疾计划,也没有获得带薪休假。 Sam的家人将需要依靠支付ICBC无过错的福利,直到Sam完全可以工作。

正如所述 我们之前关于工商银行福利的帖子,Sam的工行每周最高收益300美元。自1990年以来,福利金额没有变化(如果福利增加到与通货膨胀相匹配,则每周收益约为480美元,或每月1,920美元)。山姆能够获得医疗EI福利,但这些从工行对美元的福利减去。

Sam去了一个步入式诊所,医生开了理疗,按摩和脊椎按摩治疗。 Sam无法支付这些费用,但当工商银行理算员解释他们将支付Sam无过错保险的待遇时,他们感到宽慰。不幸的是,这不是全部故事 - 工商银行只会按照卑诗省医疗服务计划所涵盖的成本支付治疗费用的价格,但Sam所说的所有治疗服务提供者收费远不止于此 - 意味着Sam可能会负责支付二十到四十美元的费用。当萨姆的家人每个月生活费1200美元时,萨姆要支付这笔钱太多了。

Sam得知“有残疾人”的福利受助人可以承担一些医疗费用,但Sam发现他们的家庭没有资格获得收入补助,只要他们继续从工商银行获得收入。

Sam寻求法律建议,并决定对有过错的司机提起诉讼。这是一个好主意,因为这意味着他们将能够收回他们的损失收入,自付医疗费用,并为他们的痛苦和痛苦得到补偿。但是,由于以下原因,在提起诉讼和与工商银行打交道时,Sam的情况可能会处于严重劣势:

  • 诉讼需要很长时间。为了得到适当的伤害赔偿,律师需要与医生合作,以获得医疗和其他证据来支持索赔。通常,在事故发生后数年内,不能知道或计算受伤人员受伤的全部程度及其损失的全部程度。如果没有银行存款或私人保险计划,这意味着要忍受生活在工行福利上的困难;
  • 由于治疗费用过高而且工商银行只支付部分前期费用,受害方会错过一些预约,或者可能无法有效治疗他们的伤病。受伤未得到治疗,原告未按照医生的指示,这对原告的健康有害,并将对原告持有,辩护律师和工商银行理算员将试图利用此案来削弱案件和减少整体索赔。
  • 因为在人身伤害案件中证明损失需要医学证据,如果原告无法获得常规医疗护理,则处于不利地位。如果原告是其中之一 460万加拿大人无法获得家庭医生他们可能不得不依赖访问诊所,每次他们可能都不会看到同一位医生。如果需要医生代表您说话,那么一位了解您的医生会更好地为您服务,并且始终跟踪您受伤的进展情况;
  • 因为完全靠工商银行的福利生活几乎是不可能的,许多原告发现自己通常以高利率借钱。虽然有一些法院当局表示可以收回利息费用,但原告的负担将始终在于表明费用必然是由于事故造成的。提出此类索赔将不可避免地导致对您个人财务的侵入性调查;
  • 由于财务压力和不断上升的债务,原告可能更愿意妥协他们的索赔,并选择接受早期解决方案,而这些解决方案并未完全弥补他们的损失。

虽然我们幸运的是,不列颠哥伦比亚省可以获得无过错保险计划,该计划将为机动车事故中受伤的人支付残疾福利和治疗费用,但事实是,个人几乎不可能,更不用说一个家庭,每月1200美元,特别是当他们自掏腰包支付治疗费用时。如果你有私人保险,雨天基金,或依赖的朋友和亲戚,打击就会变得柔和。但对于像萨姆这样的原告 - 这些数字并没有加起来。如果您在机动车事故中受伤,请务必寻求法律建议以满足您的个人需求。

摄影:Meddy Garnet: https://www.flickr.com/photos/meddygarnet/4222474443

 

ICBC claims advice, Velletta & Company
人身伤害法

工行索赔

The Insurance Corporation of British Columbia must be notified of every auto accident injury in BC. Notify ICBC of accidents which happen outside of BC

Read More »

Injured, Poor, and Living Off of ICBC Benefits

Parties injured in a motor vehicle accident in BC have access to no-fault disability benefits and payment of some treatment costs through ICBC.  If the injuries were caused by another driver who as at fault, the injured party can bring a lawsuit to recover their additional losses.  In reality, this can play out very differently for individuals, depending on their economic status.  Parties that were barely scraping by before suffering injuries in a motor vehicle accident, are at a comparative disadvantage to those parties that have access to savings or outside streams of incomes, due to a number of compounding factors.

Let’s imagine the case of Sam.  Sam is the sole breadwinner in a family of three, and manages to scrape by earning $40,000 a year.  After tax and deductions, Sam’s family lives on approximately $3,000 a month.  Sam lives in Victoria, where the average rent for a two bedroom apartment, according to a recent report by the Victoria Foundation is $1,076. Sam is in a motor vehicle accident.  As a lower wage earner in Victoria, Sam does not have access to a private disability plan, and doesn’t get paid time off.   Sam’s family will need to rely on payment of ICBC no-fault benefits until Sam is well enough to work.

As set out in our previous post on ICBC benefits, Sam’s ICBC benefits max out at $300 per week.    The amount of the benefit hasn’t changed since 1990 (if the benefit had increased to match inflation, the benefit would be approximately $480 per week, or $1,920 per month).  Sam is able to get medical EI benefits, but these are subtracted from the ICBC benefits dollar for dollar.

Sam goes to a walk-in clinic, and the doctor prescribes physiotherapy, massage and chiropractic treatment.  Sam cannot afford to pay for these out-of-pocket, but is relieved when the ICBC adjuster explains that they will pay for the treatment under Sam’s no-fault insurance.   Unfortunately, that’s not the whole story – ICBC will only pay for the price of the treatment costs at the cost that they are covered under BC’s Medical Service Plan, but all of the treatment providers that Sam talks to charge much more than that – meaning that Sam could be responsible for paying between twenty and forty dollars a visit.  It is simply too much for Sam to pay this, when Sam’s family is living off of $1,200 a month.

Sam learns that welfare recipients with the “Person’s With Disability” designation can have some of their medical expenses taken care of, but Sam finds out that their family doesn’t qualify for income assistance so long as they continue to have income from ICBC.

Sam seeks legal advice, and decides to start a lawsuit against the driver who was at fault.  This is a good idea, because it means that they will be able to recoup their lost earnings, out of pocket medical expenses, and be compensated for their pain and suffering.  However, someone in Sam’s situation can be at a serious disadvantage when bringing a lawsuit and dealing with ICBC, for the following reasons:

  • Lawsuits take a long time.  In order to be properly compensated for their injuries, lawyers need to work with doctors to obtain medical and other evidence to support the claim.  Often, the full extent of the injured persons’ injuries, and the full extent of their losses, cannot be known or calculated until years after the accident.  Without money in the bank, or private insurance plans, this means enduring the hardship of living on ICBC benefits;
  • Because treatment costs are prohibitive and ICBC only pays a portion of the upfront costs, the injured party will miss some appointments, or may not be able to treat their injuries effectively.  The fact that the injuries went untreated, and that plaintiff isn’t following their doctor’s instructions, is harmful to the plaintiff’s health, and will be held against the plaintiff, and defence counsel and ICBC adjusters will try to use this to weaken the case and reducing the overall claim.
  • Because proving losses in a personal injury case requires medical evidence, the plaintiff is at a disadvantage if they don’t have access to regular medical care.  If the plaintiff is one of the 4.6 million Canadians without access to a family doctor, they may have to rely on visits to walk-in clinics, where they might not see the same doctor each time.  If a doctor is needed to speak on your behalf, the court is better served by a doctor who knows you well, and has consistently tracked the progress of your injuries;
  • Because living solely on ICBC benefits is a near impossibility, many Plaintiffs find themselves borrowing money, often at high interest rates.  While there are some court authorities indicating that the interest charges are recoverable, the burden will always be on the plaintiff to show that the costs were necessarily incurred as a result of the accident.  Bringing such a claim will inevitably result in an invasive investigation into your personal finances;
  • Because of financial pressure, and mounting debt, the plaintiff may prefer to compromise their claim, and choose to accept an early settlement that doesn’t fully compensate them for their losses.

While we are fortunate as British Columbian’s to have access to a no-fault insurance scheme that will pay disability benefits and treatment costs to people injured in motor vehicle accidents,  the fact is, it is barely possible for an individual, let alone a family, to subsist on $1,200 a month, especially when they are paying treatment costs out of pocket.   If you have private insurance, a rainy day fund, or friends and relatives to rely on, the blow is softened.  But for plaintiffs like Sam – the numbers just don’t add up. If you are injured in a motor vehicle accident, it is crucial that you seek legal advice to address your individual needs.

Photo by Meddy Garnet: https://www.flickr.com/photos/meddygarnet/4222474443