人身伤害索赔中的非法收入

在人身伤害诉讼中,受害方可以就过去的收入损失(即直到审判之日的实际损失收入)以及潜在的未来收入损失能力(称为“损失”)向被告提出索赔。能力“索赔”。在这两种情况下,原告必须在法院承担这些损失的可能性以及损失金额时向法院提起诉讼。在许多情况下,过去的工资损失可以是一个简单的计算 - 例如,原告可以使用工资单,或所得税申报表来显示他们的收入是如何达到事故的,并且可以很容易地计算出收入损失的多少 - 例如,如果原告每周赚600美元,并且已经停工两周,他们的收入损失很容易计算为1,200美元。如果你的收入来自更多非正统的来源,那么提出收入损失可能会很棘手。

如果您是非法大麻种植业的供应商(例如),并且您遇到的汽车事故会妨碍您开展业务,那么您将面临建立收入损失索赔的困难。这样的索赔可能会使索赔人面临刑事处罚。此外,法院不愿意宽恕非法行为 - 在合同和侵权法中,法院已经制定了 ex turpi causa non oritur actio, (拉丁 因为“从一个不光彩的事业不会产生行动”,并且将拒绝执行非法性质的合同。  

此外,这些收入很可能在任何纳税申报单上都是未申报的 - 法院过去曾使用未能在纳税申报单上申报收入来发现原告不是可靠的证人,例如2010年的案例。 Tran v.Kim Le Holdings Ltd.,2011 BCSC 1690,法院认定如下:

[64]我对Tran女士的可信度的信心因她至少两次承认没有说实话而受到损害。在她2003年的纳税申报表中,Tran女士故意低估了她的收入。虽然她提出了这样做的解释,但事实仍然是她谎报了她的收入。在我看来,Tran女士很可能没有宣布她在事故发生前从兼职工作中获得的收入。 Tran女士在她的发现检查中也谎报了她的收入。实质上,她说2003年的所得税报表是准确的,随后,她被迫承认事实并非如此。她说她当时撒了谎,因为她害怕接受真相,过去曾为她的收入撒了谎。我没有发现这个解释具有说服力。 Tran女士一定明白在她的发现考试中说实话的重要性,但没有这样做。 Tran女士是一个证明她准备撒谎的人,即使是在宣誓之下,这样做对她有利。既然如此,我无法重视她对事故是如何发生的说法,除非其他证据得到证实。

 尽管如此,尽管在证明这种说法方面存在明显的问题,法院 倾向于采取自由主义的方式来奖励受伤人员。例如,在的情况下 Dhillon v.Kastelein, [1982] BCJ No. 883,被告试图排除当时在加拿大非法工作的原告的过去收入赔偿金。在这种情况下,法院不同意,写作如下:

14     被告的律师采取的立场是,整个工资损失应该基于他本可以在印度而不是在加拿大赚取的工资。他的论点是,当他非法进入这个国家时允许加拿大的工资基数违反公共政策。他无法引用支持这一主张的任何权威,我无法接受。在Fleming - Torts of Law,第5版。 (1977)at p。 271,学者们有这样的说法:

违法

一般来说,原告碰巧在受伤时从事非法活动这一事实并不构成侵权行为的取消资格。车祸的受害者可能是一个从学校逃学的孩子,一个因违反合同而缺勤的员工,或者在去专业交往途中的窃贼,但这些都与他对疏忽司机的权利无任何关系。 。它在公认的意义上既不是因果关系,因为它没有以任何显着的方式增加他受伤的风险, 现在也没有必要阻止非法行为,因此迫切需要通过剥夺他所有的侵权补救措施,使罪犯实际上成为一项歹徒,这是更好的公共政策。“

15     在同一页的脚注中,他有这样的说法:

“目前处理非常有效的格言是非常谨慎的。根据一种广泛持有的观点,其唯一的合法职能是拒绝原告提供法律援助以实现非法目标,例如执行合同;最多是为了阻止他依赖建立索赔所必需的非法交易。两者都不适用于疏忽索赔。 如果违法行为甚至与事故无关,而且只有损害赔偿,那么格言的咬合是最少的:公共政策很少会仅仅因为它们是在受污染的就业中而反对收回损失: Mills诉Baitis [1968] VR 583(禁止区域交易); Le Bagge诉巴士[1958] NZLR 630(星期日驾驶); contra:Burns v.Edman [1970] 2 QB 541(职业罪犯)。“

法院在上述案件中采用这些段落表明了对涉及非正统或非法收入来源的收入损失索赔的自由和灵活方法。虽然法院不太可能对受伤的毒品主管给予商业损失,但法院不太可能仅仅因为技术违反法规而获得收入而拒绝收入损失索赔,例如未能获得营业执照。

 

图片来源:马克, https://www.flickr.com/photos/eggrole/4879544559/

		
ICBC claims advice, Velletta & Company
人身伤害法

工行索赔

The Insurance Corporation of British Columbia must be notified of every auto accident injury in BC. Notify ICBC of accidents which happen outside of BC

Read More »

Illegal Income in a Personal Injury Claim

In a personal injury action, the injured party can claim against the defendant for both past income loss (being their actual lost income up to the date of the trial), as well as for potential future lost income earning ability (called a “loss of capacity” claim).  In both cases, the plaintiff must satisfy the court on a balance of probabilities that they have suffered these losses, as well as the amount of the loss.  In many cases, past wage loss can be a simple calculation – for example, a plaintiff can use pay stubs, or income tax returns to show how what their earnings were up to the accident, and can readily calculate how much income was lost – for example, if the plaintiff earned $600 a week, and was off for two weeks, their lost income is easily calculated to be $1,200.   Bringing a claim for lost income can be tricky if your income comes from more unorthodox sources.

If you are the purveyor of an illegal marijuana grow-op (for example), and you were in a motor vehicle accident that impairs you from carrying out your business, you are going to face difficulty in establishing a lost income claim.  Such a claim would presumably expose the claimant to criminal penalty.  Further, courts are reluctant, to condone illegal behaviour – in contract and tort law, the courts have developed the doctrine of ex turpi causa non oritur actio, (Latin for “from a dishonourable cause an action does not arise”), and will refuse to enforce contracts of an illegal nature.  

In addition, such income is likely to be undeclared on any tax returns – and courts have in the past used a failure to declare income on a tax return to find that the plaintiff is not a credible witness, for example, in the 2010 case of Tran v. Kim Le Holdings Ltd., 2011 BCSC 1690, the court found as follows:

[64]           My confidence in Ms. Tran’s credibility is undermined by the fact that she has, on at least two occasions, admittedly not told the truth. In her tax return for 2003, Ms. Tran knowingly understated her income by a very substantial amount. Although she proffered an explanation for doing so, the fact remains that she lied about her income. It seems to me also to be likely that Ms. Tran did not declare income she received from part-time work before the accident. Ms. Tran also lied about her income in her examination for discovery. In substance, she said that the income tax statement from 2003 was accurate when, subsequently, she was forced to acknowledge that it was not. She said that she lied then because she was frightened to admit the truth, having lied about her income in the past. I did not find this explanation persuasive. Ms. Tran must have understood the importance of telling the truth on her examination for discovery, but did not do so. Ms. Tran is someone who has demonstrated that she is prepared to lie, even under oath, when it is to her advantage to do so. That being so, I am unable to give weight to her account of how the accident occurred except to the extent that it is corroborated by other evidence.

 That said, despite the obvious problems in proving such a claim, courts tend to take a liberal approach to awarding compensation to injured persons.  For example, in the  case of Dhillon v. Kastelein, [1982] B.C.J. No. 883, the defendant sought to exclude a past income award from the plaintiff, who had been working illegally in Canada at the time.  In that case, the court disagreed, writing as follows:

14     Counsel for the defendant took the position that the whole wage loss should be based on the wages he could have earned in India rather than in Canada. His argument being that it would be contrary to public policy to allow a Canadian wage base when he was illegally in this country. He was unable to cite any authority in support of that proposition and I am unable to accept it. In Fleming – Law of Torts, 5th ed. (1977) at p. 271, the learned author has this to say:

Illegality

Generally speaking, the mere fact that the plaintiff happened to be engaged on something unlawful at the time of his injury is no disqualification in tort. The victim of a motor accident may be a child playing truant from school, an employee absent from work in breach of contract, or a burglar on his way to a professional engagement, but none of this has any bearing on his rights against the negligent driver. It is neither causally relevant in the accepted sense, since it did not in any significant way increase the risk of his injury, nor is the need to deter unlawful conduct nowadays consider so urgent that it is better public policy to make the offender in effect an outlaw by depriving him of all tortious redress.”

15     In a footnote at the same page he has this to say:

“The maxim Ex turpi causa non oritur actio is nowadays handled with caution. According to a widely held view, its sole legitimate function is to deny a plaintiff legal aid for accomplishing an illegal object, like enforcing a contract; at most to preclude him from relying on an illegal transaction necessary to establish his claim. Neither is generally applicable to negligence claims. The maxim’s bite is least where the illegality is not even associated with the accident but only with damages: public policy would rarely oppose recovery of lost earnings merely because they would have been made in a tainted employment: Mills v. Baitis [1968] V.R. 583 (trade in prohibited area); Le Bagge v. Buses [1958] N.Z.L.R. 630 (Sunday driving); contra: Burns v. Edman [1970] 2 Q.B. 541 (professional criminal).”

The court’s adoption of these passages in the above case indicates a liberal and flexible approach to lost income claims involving unorthodox or illegal sources of income.  While a court is unlikely to award business losses to an injured drug kingpin, the courts are not likely to deny an income loss claim simply because the income was earned in technical breach of a statute, such as a failure to obtain a business license.

 

Photo Credit: Mark, https://www.flickr.com/photos/eggrole/4879544559/