上诉法院判决对骑自行车者传递权利负担沉重

本月早些时候,不列颠哥伦比亚省上诉法院在其案件中公布了其理由 奥米斯顿诉工商银行, 2014年BCCA 276.在这种情况下,一名受伤的骑车人被发现因骑车人右侧经过车辆而发生的事故完全有过错,这与 机动车法。  作为一名骑自行车的人,我同意骑自行车者必须努力遵守道路规则 - 但是,这个案例突出了法律框架的问题,该法律框架规定了驾驶者和骑车者如何分享道路,以及裁决涉及疏忽案件的相关问题。骑自行车的人。

案件的事实如下:

  • 原告正骑着自行车沿着一条铺满乡村道路的小山下山。
  • 道路标有中心线和“雾线”,道路右侧有一条白线,将道路与肩部分开。
  • 骑自行车的人正在道路的“雾线”左侧行驶,因为由于碎片,肩膀不安全。
  • 一辆面包车从山顶通过了原告,在山脚附近,面包车停在了路中间。
  • 然后骑自行车的人开车经过右边停下的面包车。
  • 当他经过面包车时,面包车突然向右移动,切断了骑车人,使他撞到了肩膀,撞到了一个混凝土屏障,然后从岩石路堤上掉下来。

从我自己作为骑车者的角度来看,原告在这种情况下的行为似乎是合理的。在早些时候经过骑车人之后,车辆停在了车道上。除右路传球外,骑车人还有另外两种选择。第一个是通过左侧的车辆,这将使他暴露在迎面而来的交通中,如果停止的车辆恢复运动,可能会使他处于更大的危险之中。第二种选择是骑自行车者只需在停止的车辆后面等待无限期。

在审判期间,法官发现司机在这些情况下承担了70%的责任,上诉法院不同意,发现骑车人完全应对此次事故负责。在得出这个结论时,法院依据的是第183条 机动车法这表明骑自行车的人“拥有与驾驶者相同的权利和义务” 法案, 以及第158(1)条,除非在有限的情况下,否则禁止车辆通过该权利。我摘录了下面法院推理的部分内容:

[21]有人争辩说,驾驶员不应该在没有检查后视镜的情况下越过车辆行驶的车道,尽管当然没有任何证据,并且没有发现没有发现。但是,虽然车辆必须始终以适当的关注和注意力驾驶,但如果没有证据基础可以找到司机知道或应该知道骑车人可能已经在车辆后面,并试图传递其权利与奥米斯顿所做的一样,在同一车道上,很难理解为什么驾驶员在没有检查车辆后视镜的情况下是否应该穿过车道而出现故障。  无论如何,虽然显然驾驶员没有看到Ormiston加速向右传递,但不能说如果他或她在后面的后视镜中看到他,车辆就会向右移动无论出于何种原因,都不会也不应该制造。这是车辆的车道。

[23]根据 机动车法 骑单车的人必须尽可能靠近高速公路的右侧(第183(2)(c)条)。 “公路”的定义广泛,包括任何旨在供公众用于车辆通行的通行权(第1条)。据说,这包括肩部,有时骑自行车的人必须骑在它上面尽可能接近高速公路的右侧。车辆必须在道路的右侧行驶(第150(1)条)。 “道路”被定义为设计用于车辆交通的高速公路的改进部分,但不包括任何肩部(第119条)。车辆不能靠肩膀行驶。

[24]争论的焦点是,因为骑车者有时必须骑在肩上,而车辆不能在高速公路的那一部分上行驶,所以在可行的情况下,肩部必须是s的意义上的骑车人的车道。 158(1)(b)使得当骑在肩上时,他们能够利用其提供的例外情况并在其右侧的道路上通过车辆。考虑到在高速公路的任何给定路段或从一条高速公路到下一条高速公路的肩部的不同宽度以及表面的状况,看起来可能实际可能变化很大。在任何给定的情况下,一个骑自行车者可能与另一个骑自行车者有不同的看法。

[25]虽然我怀疑立法意图是通过这种有些复杂的法定途径创造全省数千英里无标记和不明确的自行车道,但我不认为是。 158(1)(b)构成禁止在任何情况下转移权利的适用例外。 ...

正如法官所说,“laned roadway”例外没有申请。它不允许骑车者通过骑在肩膀上的右侧车辆。它必须跟随车辆的驾驶员没有理由期待像Ormiston这样的骑车者试图通过骑在肩膀上来传递右侧。当肩膀不适合骑自行车时,必须特别如此,因为它散落着碎石,Ormiston正在他认为切实可行的高速公路右侧骑行。

[26]奥米斯顿做了一件愚蠢的事。他没有等到司机的意图明确,而是决定做什么 机动车法 禁止 - 传递右边。他决定冒险,他受伤了。如果他等了,甚至几秒钟,那当然不会发生意外,因为车辆已经移动到它的车道右侧。

简而言之,法院认为选择传递权利的自行车运动员完全是在自己的危险中这样做,因为道路的规则,因为它们在 机动车法,在驾驶员中不要期望骑车人可以在右边的车道上。这里的道路实际规则之间存在脱节 法案,以及安全骑行的现实。根据这些规则,骑车者可以通过交通不断地在左侧通过,但是必须根据每辆经过的车辆调整他们的速度,以便永远不会重新获得它们。在我看来,如果车辆通过骑车人,然后减速或停止,他们应该期望骑车人可以重新驾驶,并考虑到这一事实,并意识到骑车人的存在。在我看来,这是分享道路的一种公平方式,也是对骑车者和司机承担相互义务的道路。

在审理此案的上诉法院三名成员中,有一名持不同意见的法官,其裁决我倾向于同意。威尔科克法官维持了初审法院的判决,对司机承担了一些责任。这些原因使得驾驶者有义务期望骑车者在减速或停止时肩膀上行走。我认为,这种义务会在驾车者刚刚在同一车道上经过骑车人的情况下得到加强,就像这里的情况一样。威尔科克大法官写道:

[62]         车辆的驾驶员应该期待骑自行车的人在高速公路的肩膀上。如果不进行适当的护理,他们就无法转向肩膀或转向肩膀。当他们在有可能看到周期的情况下这样做时,他们将对由此造成的损害负责.

威尔科克法官也对第158(1)(b)条作出解释,这符合我对安全骑车的看法。简而言之,司法部发现,在铺设的道路和肩部被涂成白色线条划分的情况下,骑车者应该能够将线路右侧的铺砌肩部视为允许它们的单独“车道”。通过:

[54]         第158(1)(b)条并未提及“可以驾驶车辆”的车道,该车道会明确地排除肩部,而是指“车道一侧的车道” 允许驾驶员驾驶“[强调增加。]虽然机动车辆必须在道路上行驶而不能在肩膀上行驶,但骑车者会被引导并被允许在可能的情况下骑在肩膀上。在这种情况下,如果存在将道路与肩部分开的雾线,则肩部必须被认为是允许骑车者驾驶的道路侧面的车道。从骑自行车者的角度来看,林德霍尔姆路是一条“车道”,因为有两条或更多条标记车道可供骑行者沿同一方向行驶。在我看来, 机动车法 允许骑车者在他们乘坐高速公路的铺砌部分时,在由雾线划定的车道上,在允许他们驾驶的车道一侧的车道上通过车辆。

最终,这个案例显示了使用条款的限制 机动车法 裁定涉及骑车人的疏忽索赔。该 法案 除了将骑自行车者简单地视为另一个驾车者之外,他们并没有真正解决骑车人和驾驶者如何分享这条道路的问题。因此,没有特别考虑骑自行车者和驾驶者可以安全地分享道路的众多其他方式。

 图片来源:Bob Dass: https://www.flickr.com/photos/54144402@N03/9254698480

 

 

ICBC claims advice, Velletta & Company
人身伤害法

工行索赔

The Insurance Corporation of British Columbia must be notified of every auto accident injury in BC. Notify ICBC of accidents which happen outside of BC

Read More »

Court of Appeal Decision Places Heavy Burden on Cyclists Passing On the Right

Earlier this month, the British Columbia Court of Appeal released its reasons in the case of Ormiston v. ICBC, 2014 BCCA 276.  In this case, an injured cyclist was found totally at fault for an accident that occurred while the cyclist was passing a vehicle on its right, contrary to the Motor Vehicle Act.  As a cyclist myself, I agree that cyclists must endeavour to follow the rules of the road – however, this case highlights problems with the legal framework that governs how motorists and cyclists are to share the road, and the associated problems in adjudicating negligence cases involving cyclists.

The facts of the case are as follows:

  • The plaintiff was riding his bike down a hill on a paved rural road.
  • The road was marked with a center line and with a “fog line,” a white line on the right hand side of the road that divides the road from the shoulder.
  • The cyclist was travelling to the left of the “fog line,” on the roadway because the shoulder was unsafe to drive on, due to debris.
  • A van passed the plaintiff at the top of the hill, and near the bottom of the hill, the van stopped in the middle of the road.
  • The cyclist then proceeded to drive past the stopped van, on the right.
  • As he was passing the van, the van suddenly moved to the right, cutting off the cyclist and causing him to run into the shoulder, striking a concrete barrier, and falling down a rocky embankment.

From my own perspective as a cyclist, the Plaintiff’s actions in this case appear reasonable.  The vehicle had stopped on the roadway, after passing the cyclist moments earlier.  The cyclist had two other options besides passing on the right.  The first was to  pass the vehicle on the left, which would have exposed him to oncoming traffic, and could have left him in even greater peril had the stopped vehicle resumed moving.  The second option  would have been for the cyclist to simply wait behind the stopped vehicle for an indefinite amount of time.

While at trial, the judge found that the driver was 70 per cent liable in the these circumstances, the Court of Appeal disagreed, finding that the cyclist was entirely to blame for the accident.   In reaching this conclusion, the court relied on section 183 of the Motor Vehicle Actwhich states that a cyclist “has the same rights and duties” as a motorist under the Act, and on section  158(1), which prohibits a vehicle from passing on the right except for in limited circumstances.   I have excerpted portions of the Court’s reasoning below:

[21]         It is contended that the driver should not have moved across the lane in which the vehicle was being driven without checking the rear-view mirrors, although there is of course no evidence and for that matter no finding that was not done.  But, while vehicles must always be driven with due care and attention, in the absence of an evidentiary basis on which to find the driver knew or ought to have known a cyclist may have been behind the vehicle, and would attempt to pass on its right side, in the same lane, as Ormiston did, it is difficult to see why the driver should be faulted for moving across the lane without checking the vehicle’s mirrors in this instance.  In any event, while it is apparent the driver did not see Ormiston accelerate to pass on the right, it cannot be said that if he or she had seen him in the rear-view mirrors following behind, the vehicle’s move to the right of its lane, for whatever the reason may have been, would not and should not have been made.  It was the vehicle’s lane.

[23]         Under the Motor Vehicle Act a cyclist is required to ride as near as practicable to the right side of the highway (s. 183(2)(c)).  “Highway” is broadly defined to include any right of way designed to be used by the public for the passage of vehicles (s. 1).  That, it is said, includes the shoulder such that sometimes cyclists must ride on it to be as near as practicable to the right side of the highway.  Vehicles are required to travel on the right-hand half of the roadway (s. 150(1)).  “Roadway” is defined as the improved portion of a highway designed for use by vehicular traffic but does not include any shoulder (s. 119).  Vehicles cannot travel on the shoulder.

[24]         The contention is that because cyclists must sometimes ride on the shoulder while vehicles cannot travel on that part of a highway, the shoulder must, where practicable, be a lane for cyclists within the meaning of s. 158(1)(b) such that, when riding on the shoulder, they are able to take advantage of the exception it provides and pass vehicles on a roadway on their right.  It does appear that what may be practicable could vary considerably having regard for the differing widths of the shoulder over any given stretch of a highway, or from one highway to the next, as well as the condition of the surface.  One cyclist may have a much different view than another as to what is practicable in any given instance.

[25]         While I doubt the legislative intention was to create by this somewhat convoluted statutory route what would be thousands of miles of unmarked and ill-defined bicycle lanes across the province, I do not consider s. 158 (1)(b) constitutes an applicable exception to the prohibition against passing on the right in any event.  …

The “laned roadway” exception has, as the judge said, no application here.  It does not permit cyclists to pass vehicles on the right by riding on the shoulder.  It must follow the driver of the vehicle would have had no reason to expect a cyclist like Ormiston would attempt to pass on the right by riding on the shoulder.  That must be particularly so here when the shoulder was not fit for a bicycle because it was strewn with gravel and Ormiston was riding as far to the right of the highway as he considered practicable.

[26]         Ormiston did a foolish thing.  Rather than wait until the driver’s intentions were clear, he decided to do what the Motor Vehicle Act prohibits – pass on the right.  He decided to take a chance and he was injured.  Had he waited, even a few seconds, there would of course have been no accident because the vehicle drove on after it had moved to the right of its lane.

In short, the Court reasons that a cyclist who chooses to pass on the right does so entirely at their own peril, because the rules of the road, as they are set out in the Motor Vehicle Act, create no expectation in the driver that a cyclist can be in their lane on the right.  There is a disconnect here between the actual rules of the road set out in the Act, and the realities of safe cycling.  According to these rules, a cyclist may be continually passed on the left by traffic, but then must adjust their speed in accordance with each passing vehicle, so as to never retake them.  In my opinion, if a vehicle passes a cyclist, and then slows or stops, they ought to expect that the cyclist may retake them, and drive in consideration of this fact, with awareness of the cyclist’s presence.   This seems to me a fair way to share the road, and one that places mutual obligations on cyclists and drivers.

Of the three members of the Court of Appeal hearing this case, there was one dissenting judge, whose ruling I tend to agree with.  Justice Willcock upheld the trial court’s decision, imputing some liability on the driver.  These reasons impute an obligation on motorists to expect cyclists to pass on the shoulder while they are slowed or stopped.  This obligation, I expect, would be heightened in circumstances where the motorist had only moments earlier passed the cyclist in the same lane, as was the case here.  Justice Willcock writes:

[62]         Drivers of vehicles should expect cyclists on the shoulder of the highway. They cannot turn onto the shoulder or veer toward it without exercising appropriate care. When they do so in circumstances in which there is a cycle to be seen, they will be liable for the resulting damage.

Justice Willcock also gives an interpretation to section 158(1)(b), which accords with my own view’s on safe cycling.  In short, the Justice finds that where a paved roadway and the shoulder are divided by a painted white line, the cyclist ought to be able to consider the paved shoulder to the right of the line as a separate “lane” in which they are permitted to pass:

[54]         Section 158(1)(b) does not refer to a lane “in which a vehicle may be driven,” which would unequivocally exclude the shoulder, but rather, to “a lane on the side of the roadway on which the driver is permitted to drive.” [Emphasis added.] While motor vehicles must be driven on the roadway and cannot be driven on the shoulder, cyclists are directed and permitted to ride on the shoulder where it is possible to do so. Where, as in this case, there is a fog line dividing the roadway from the shoulder, the shoulder must be considered to be a lane on the side of the roadway on which cyclists are permitted to drive. From the perspective of a cyclist, Lindholm Road is a “laned roadway” because there are two or more marked lanes for the travel of cyclists in the same direction. In my view, the Motor Vehicle Act allows cyclists to pass vehicles on the right when they are riding on a paved portion of the highway, in a lane demarcated by a fog line, on the side of the roadway on which they are permitted to drive.

Ultimately, this case shows the limits of using the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Act to adjudicate negligence claims involving cyclists.  The Act does not address in any real way how cyclists and motorists are to share the road, apart from treating a cyclist simply as another motorist.  As a result, no special consideration is given to the multitude of other ways in which cyclists and motorists may safely share the road.

 Photo Credit: Bob Dass: https://www.flickr.com/photos/54144402@N03/9254698480