我能告诉我的家庭检查员吗?

不列颠哥伦比亚省的住宅房地产购买者通常会在购买房屋之前使用房屋检查员的服务。对于大多数不列颠哥伦比亚省人来说,房屋是他们有史以来最大的购房行为,而适当的房屋检查可以为房屋的质量提供一些保证,并且可以揭示出购买后不会发现买家不知情的缺陷。

在某些情况下,如果检查员未能以某种方式识别缺陷或歪曲房屋或其调查结果,买方可以向房屋检查员寻求补救。

根据普通法,如果房屋检查员未能妥善进行检查并向其委托人提供建议,则可能会对疏忽失实或违约行为负责。如果是 戈登诉克里格 2013年BCSC 842, 例如,原告起诉供应商以及他们的房屋检查员就购买后在家中发现的许多问题提起诉讼。在这种情况下,房屋检查员被发现对原告的损失承担75%的责任,因为对于房屋的基础和结构给予了不良的建议。

尽管如此,即使房屋检查员在技术上可能被认定对他们的错误承担责任,法院也可以维护房屋检查员合同中的条款,限制他们的责任。在 戈登诉克里格, 房屋检查员的合同包括一项将其责任限制在400美元的规定。虽然检查员本可以承担超过60,000美元的赔偿金,但法院维持了限制条款。法院在考虑该条款的公正性时写道如下:

[165]要指出的第一点是,责任限制条款的存在并不能自动表明实质上的不公平。相反,必须考虑整个合同。在这里,合同规定PTP将提供一个检查员,他们将分开大约三个小时,首先,检查房子和准备书面报告,其次,与戈登女士交谈。作为回报,戈登女士支付了400美元的费用。每小时约133美元。这笔费用必须包括基尔比先生的工资和所有PTP的管理费用。该合同要求PTP仅进行目视检查 - 任何一方都不希望PTP通过在墙上挖洞,撕毁地板或移除隔热材料来获得对该财产的所有法证。对于合同预期的相对有限的服务而言,四百美元似乎不是一个不合理的数字。我承认如果PTP在三个小时的时间内收取40,000美元的费用可能会有所不同。在这种情况下,很难看出这么大的费用如何能够合理地与所提供的有限服务的价值联系起来。

[166]关于限制条款在评估公平性方面的作用,重要的是要注意,正在检查的资产是一个即将以360,000美元的价格出售的房屋。如果没有限制条款,PTP将对数十万美元的索赔持开放态度。在这种情况下,PTP向戈登女士收取的费用必须反映这一风险;它本来会高得多。因此,限制条款具有调节PTP收费价格并使该价格达到Gordon女士负担得起的范围的效果。限制条款并非不公平,而是让戈登女士为检查付出的代价降到了她能负担的程度。

[167]由于这些原因,我发现戈登女士和PTP之间的交易并不是很不公平。

简而言之,法院维持限制条款的依据是,如果不是这样的条款=,房屋检查的费用必须高得多,以反映房屋检查员承担的重大风险。他们的工作。在对房屋检查员提起诉讼之前,必须特别注意任何限制条款的措辞,以及这样的条款是否适用。由于每个案例都是独一无二的,因此请务必咨询律师,讨论您案件的具体事实,以及您是否可以提出此类索赔。

Can I Sue My Home Inspector?

Purchasers of residential real estate in British Columbia will typically engage the services of a home inspector prior to purchasing a home.  For most British Columbians, a home is the biggest purchase they will ever make, and a proper home inspection can provide some assurance as to the quality of the home and can reveal defects that could otherwise catch the buyer unawares after purchase.

In some cases, a buyer may seek redress against a home inspector if the inspector failed to identify defects or misrepresented the home or their findings in some way.

At common law, a home inspector may be found responsible for negligent misrepresentation or breach of contract if they fail to properly carry out their inspection and advise their client.  In the case of Gordon v. Krieg 2013 BCSC 842, for example, the Plaintiff sued the vendors, as well as their home inspector with respect to numerous problems discovered in a home after purchase.  In that case, the home inspector was found to be 75% liable for the Plaintiffs damages with respect to poor advice given respecting foundation and structure of the home.

That said, even though a home inspector may technically be found liable for their mistakes, the court may uphold clauses in the home inspector’s contract limiting their liability.  In Gordon v. Krieg, the home inspector’s contract included a provision limiting their liability to $400.  Although the inspector could have been responsible for over $60,000 in damages, the court upheld the limitation clause.  In considering the fairness of that clause, the court wrote as follows:

[165]     The first point to make is that the fact that the presence of a liability limitation clause does not automatically signal substantial unfairness. Instead, the whole of the contract must be taken into account. Here, the contract provided that PTP would provide an inspector who would divide about three hours between, first, inspecting the house and preparing a written report, and, second, conversing with Ms. Gordon. In return, Ms. Gordon paid a fee of $400. That works out to about $133 per hour. That fee had to cover Mr. Kilby’s wage and all of PTP’s overhead. The contract required PTP to conduct a visual inspection only – neither party expected that PTP would get all forensic on the property by poking holes in walls, tearing up floor boards, or removing insulation. Four hundred dollars does not seem an unreasonable figure for the relatively limited service the contract contemplated. I grant that it might be different if PTP had charged, say, $40,000 for its three hours of time. In that case, it would be difficult to see how such a large fee could be rationally connected to the value of the limited services provided.

[166]     As for the role that the limitation clause plays in the assessment of fairness, it is important to note that the asset that was being inspected was a house that was about to sell for $360,000. Absent the limitation clause, PTP would have been open to claims in the range of tens and hundreds of thousands of dollars. In that case, the fee that PTP charged to Ms. Gordon would have to reflect that risk; it would have been much higher. The limitation clause had the effect, therefore, of moderating the price PTP charged and of bringing that price into a range that was affordable to Ms. Gordon. Rather than being unfair, the limitation clause brought the price Ms. Gordon paid for the inspection down to a point that she could afford.

[167]     For these reasons I find that the bargain between Ms. Gordon and PTP was not substantially unfair.

In short, the court upheld the limitation clause on the basis that, if it were not for such a clause=, the cost of a home inspection would have to be much higher, in order to reflect the substantial risk being carried by home inspectors for their work.  Before bringing a case against a home inspector, careful attention must be paid to the wording of any limitation clause, and whether such a clause would apply.  As every case is unique, it is important that you consult a lawyer to discuss the facts specific to your case, and whether you may have such a claim.