最近的上诉法院对无保险驾车人士福利的裁决

Recent Court of Appeal Ruling on Uninsured Motorist Benefits 1 Velletta Lawyers Victoria BC

本月早些时候,上诉法院公布了其决定 Schoenhalz诉不列颠哥伦比亚省保险公司, 2017 BCCA 289 。在这种情况下,法院根据第20条的规定,考虑了无保险驾驶者福利的可用性 保险(车辆)法。

在不列颠哥伦比亚省,所有驾驶者都必须携带至少最低数量的第三方责任保险。这意味着当某人因疏忽操作的机动车辆而受伤时,受害方几乎总是可以依靠可用的资金池来获得赔偿金。第20节 保险(车辆)法 在我们的强制保险制度中,基本上是故障保险 - 对于那些驾驶员没有保险的罕见情况,受害方可以申请第20条福利,以填补无法从疏忽驾驶者那里恢复的空白。但是,正如本案例所示,第20节的好处有其自身的局限性需要注意。

第91节 保险(车辆)法 在某些情况下限制恢复:

与被盗车辆有关的恢复限制

91 (1)本条适用于某人

(a)因使用或操作车辆而造成的人身伤害,死亡或财产损失或损坏,及

(b)在意外发生人身伤害,死亡或财产损失或损坏的事故发生时,该人是车辆的经营者或乘客,而该人是知道或应当已经知道未经业主同意而经营,而对于租赁的机动车,则为承租人。

(2)尽管如此 疏忽法案 和该法案第100节,

(b)第(1)款所提述的人无权根据第20条从法团获得任何追讨。

基本上,如果受害方是他们所知道的车辆中的乘客,或者应该知道在未经车主同意的情况下进行操作,则他们被禁止提出第20条索赔。在这种情况下,工商银行成功地辩称原告无权获得第20条福利。事故发生时,她17岁,是一名乘坐15岁车辆的乘客。在审判时,法官发现,由于原告的年龄较小,她无法想到车辆是否未经同意驾驶,因此她不会被禁止按照第20条进行追讨。

上诉法院不同意,并认为在原告的情况下,一个合理的人应该知道该车辆是在未经同意的情况下驾驶的。

这是一个重要的案例,因为它澄清了在考虑第91节例外时要遵循的测试。法院将遵循一个 目的 考虑到原告的情况应该知道什么是合理的人,而不是审判法官采用的主观方法。

未雨绸缪!考虑通过工商银行提供额外的残疾保险

如果您涉及机动车事故并且无法工作,工行应支付的TTD(临时全面残疾)福利的典型最高费率仅为每周300美元。卑诗省的每位司机都可以依法获得此保险;但是,超过25年的福利金额没有增加!  正如我在之前的一篇文章中写的那样在这种钱上几乎不可能维持生计,特别是如果你自掏腰包支付治疗费用。

很少有人意识到这一点,但可以从工商银行购买额外的残疾保险。在更新我们的车辆保险时,我们这里的一些人每年都会购买额外保险。您可以通过购买收入替换政策APV197将您的TTD费率从每周300美元提高到每周700美元。每月400美元的额外保险费用为每年84美元。这是一个很有价值的东西。关于此额外保险的在线信息非常少,因此我们建议您在下次续保时与您的经纪人讨论此事。

如果您参与不列颠哥伦比亚省的机动车事故, 立即联系我们的维多利亚律师。

司机将工商银行告上法庭以保证他的安全司机折扣 - 并获胜。

不列颠哥伦比亚省法院今天发布了一项有趣的决定。在这种情况下,工行认为驾驶员因车辆撞到中间道路中的岩石而发生的事故有过错。中国工商银行向受伤的乘客付款,并修理了车辆,根据司机的碰撞保险支付了两笔款项,而不是向乘客支付“无过错”福利,并根据其综合保险单支付了维修费用。工行决心的结果是,司机将失去安全驾驶折扣,并且必须支付更高的保费。他决定在法庭上打击这一决心,并取得了成功。

阅读更多司机将工商银行告上法庭以保证他的安全司机折扣 - 并获胜。

上诉法院判决对骑自行车者传递权利负担沉重

本月早些时候,不列颠哥伦比亚省上诉法院在其案件中公布了其理由 奥米斯顿诉工商银行, 2014年BCCA 276.在这种情况下,一名受伤的骑车人被发现因骑车人右侧经过车辆而发生的事故完全有过错,这与 机动车法。  作为一名骑自行车的人,我同意骑自行车者必须努力遵守道路规则 - 但是,这个案例突出了法律框架的问题,该法律框架规定了驾驶者和骑车者如何分享道路,以及裁决涉及疏忽案件的相关问题。骑自行车的人。

阅读更多上诉法院判决对骑自行车者传递权利负担沉重

人身伤害索赔中的非法收入

在人身伤害诉讼中,受害方可以就过去的收入损失(即直到审判之日的实际损失收入)以及潜在的未来收入损失能力(称为“损失”)向被告提出索赔。能力“索赔”。在这两种情况下,原告必须在法院承担这些损失的可能性以及损失金额时向法院提起诉讼。在许多情况下,过去的工资损失可以是一个简单的计算 - 例如,原告可以使用工资单,或所得税申报表来显示他们的收入是如何达到事故的,并且可以很容易地计算出收入损失的多少 - 例如,如果原告每周赚600美元,并且已经停工两周,他们的收入损失很容易计算为1,200美元。如果你的收入来自更多非正统的来源,那么提出收入损失可能会很棘手。

阅读更多人身伤害索赔中的非法收入

中国工商银行福利的受伤,贫困和生活

在卑诗省机动车事故中受伤的各方可通过工商银行获得无过错伤残津贴并支付一些治疗费用。如果伤害是由另一名驾驶员造成的,那么受伤方可以提起诉讼以追回其额外损失。实际上,根据经济状况的不同,这对个人来说可能会有很大不同。由于许多复合因素,在机动车事故中受伤之前几乎没有被刮过的各方处于相对劣势,因为这些政党可以获得储蓄或外部收入来源。

阅读更多中国工商银行福利的受伤,贫困和生活

计算工行残疾福利

如果您在不列颠哥伦比亚省的机动车事故中受伤,导致您无法工作,即使意外是您的错,您也可能有权享受残疾福利。这是因为在不列颠哥伦比亚省,我们有一个“无过错”的福利计划,为卑诗省机动车事故中受伤的大多数人提供工资损失福利,死亡福利和医疗福利(以及BC省居民受伤各州或加拿大其他地方)。这些好处列于不列颠哥伦比亚省的第7部分 保险车辆监管 (这就是为什么有时它们被称为“第7部分的好处”)。

阅读更多计算工行残疾福利

野生动物碰撞和工行案件

Small business law advice from Velletta

对于不列颠哥伦比亚省的驾车者来说,与野生动物的碰撞是一个不幸的现实。根据 一些统计数据在卑诗省的平均年份,有4人丧生,384名驾驶员受伤,至少有6100只动物被杀死。在维多利亚州,道路上的大量鹿已经导致一些市政当局提出建议 激烈的措施。  在人身伤害诉讼中,工商银行理算员和辩护律师经常试图通过声称事故是“不可避免的”而拒绝向涉及野生动物的碰撞中受害的当事人提供赔偿,而不是任何驾驶员的疏忽造成的。但是,每个案件都有自己的事实。

阅读更多野生动物碰撞和工行案件

新人在人身伤害诉讼中的特殊考虑

Family law, Velletta & Company, Victoria, BC

我们的办公室最近解决了工行对一名年轻妇女的索赔,该妇女在怀孕五个月的机动车事故中遭受了软组织损伤。在这种情况下特别感兴趣的是计算非金钱损害赔偿金(有时称为“痛苦和痛苦”损害赔偿金)。

阅读更多新人在人身伤害诉讼中的特殊考虑

“信托”索赔 - 家庭照顾者的赔偿

在发生严重事故之后,患有伤害或残疾的人通常需要依靠靠近他们的人以护理服务和家务劳动的形式伸出援助之手,如烹饪,清洁和驾驶。如果你运气好的话,你会有一群亲密的朋友和家人伸出援助之手。作为一个社会,我们依靠这些无名英雄的无偿劳动,伸出援助之手,汲取我们的公共卫生系统所释放的松懈。对于那些因其他人的疏忽而受伤的人,可以在人身伤害诉讼中要求赔偿,以补偿亲密的家庭成员的努力。人身伤害往往对整个家庭造成破坏性和破坏性,重要的是不要忽视这种形式的补偿。

阅读更多“信托”索赔 - 家庭照顾者的赔偿

“肇事逃逸”事故和工商银行

"Hit and Run" accidents and ICBC 2 Velletta Lawyers Victoria BC

在普通的人身伤害诉讼中,原告需要知道谁应对其伤害负责,以便法院能够找到该责任方。例如,如果你被一个用雨伞打你的路人严重受伤,并逃离现场,你可能会发现自己处于不幸的状态,你不会因为痛苦和工资损失而得到报酬。受伤了。值得庆幸的是,我们在不列颠哥伦比亚省的法律确实为那些在“肇事逃逸”中受伤的人提供了一些保护,也就是说,由一个疏忽的驾驶员感受到事故现场并且仍然身份不明。

阅读更多“肇事逃逸”事故和工商银行

什么是法院费用?

Partnership and business law, Victoria BC , Velletta & Company

通过诉讼追究其人身伤害索赔的大多数不列颠哥伦比亚人将在法律顾问的协助下这样做。法律费用通常非常昂贵。绝大多数受伤的原告将以按判决金额收费的方式聘请律师,这意味着他们将获得一定比例的总和解或判决,通常律师在案件结束前不会获得报酬。作为一名人身伤害律师,客户经常会问我:“我可以起诉工行或另一方的所有法律费用吗?”我对这个问题的回答如下: 并不是的。

阅读更多什么是法院费用?

Recent Court of Appeal Ruling on Uninsured Motorist Benefits

Earlier this month, the Court of Appeal released its decision in Schoenhalz v. Insurance Corporation of British Columbia, 2017 BCCA 289 .  In that case, the court considered the availability of uninsured motorist benefits pursuant to section 20 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act.

In British Columbia, all motorists are required to carry at least a minimum amount of third party liability insurance.  This means that when someone is injured as a result of a negligently operated motor vehicle, the injured party can almost always count on a pool of funding to be available from which they may recover an award of damages.  Section 20 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act essentially acts as a failsafe in our mandatory insurance regime – for those rare cases where the motorist is uninsured, the injured party may make a claim for Section 20 benefits to fill in the gap where recovery from the negligent motorist is not possible.  However, as this case shows, Section 20 benefits have their own limitations to be aware of.

Section 91 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act limits recovery in certain cases:

Limitation on recovery in relation to stolen vehicles

91 (1) This section applies to a person who

(a) suffered bodily injury, death or loss of or damage to property that is caused by the use or operation of a vehicle, and

(b) at the time of the accident as a result of which the bodily injury, death or loss of or damage to property was suffered, was an operator of, or a passenger in or on, a vehicle that the person knew or ought to have known was being operated without the consent of the owner, and, in the case of a leased motor vehicle, the lessee.

(2) Despite the Negligence Act and section 100 of this Act,

(b) a person referred to in subsection (1) is not entitled to any recovery from the corporation under section 20.

Essentially, an injured party is barred from making a section 20 claim if they were a passenger in a vehicle that they knew, or ought to have known was being operated without the owner’s consent.  In this case, ICBC was successful in arguing that the plaintiff was not entitled to section 20 benefits.  At the time of the accident, she was 17 years old, and was a passenger in a vehicle driven by a 15-year-old.  At trial, the judge found that because of the plaintiff’s young age, she couldn’t have turned her mind to whether or not the vehicle was driven without consent, and therefore she was not barred from recovering pursuant to section 20.

The Court of Appeal disagreed, and found that a reasonable person in the plaintiff’s circumstances ought to have known that the vehicle was driven without consent.

This is an important case, as it clarifies the test to be followed when considering the section 91 exception.  The court is to follow an objective approach, considering what a reasonable person in the plaintiff’s circumstances ought to know, as a opposed to the subjective approach employed by the trial judge.

Plan Ahead! Consider Additional Disability Coverage through ICBC

If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident and cannot work, the typical maximum rate payable by ICBC for TTD (temporary total disability) benefits is only $300 per week.  Every driver in BC has access to this coverage as a matter of law; however, the benefit amount has not been increased for over 25 years!  As I have written in an earlier entry, it is nearly impossible to make ends meet on that kind of money, especially if you are paying out of pocket for treatment costs.

Few people are aware of this, but it is possible to purchase extra disability coverage from ICBC.  Some of us here at the firm buy this extra coverage every year when renewing our vehicle insurance.  You can increase your TTD rate from the typical $300 per week up to $700 per week by purchasing Income Replacement Policy APV197.  An additional coverage of $400 per month costs $84 per year.  It’s a great value.  There is very little information online regarding this extra coverage, so we recommend that you discuss this with your broker the next time you renew your insurance.

If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident in British Columbia, contact one of our Victoria Lawyers today.

Driver takes ICBC to court to keep his safe drivers discount – and wins.

An interesting decision was released today by the British Columbia Provincial Court.  In this case, a driver was deemed by ICBC to be at fault for an accident that occurred when his vehicle struck a rock in the middle of the roadway.  ICBC made payments to an injured passenger, and repaired the vehicle, making both payments pursuant to the driver’s collision coverage, as opposed to paying “no-fault” benefits to the passenger, and paying out the repairs under his comprehensive insurance policy.   The upshot of ICBC’s determination,  was that the driver would lose his safe-driving discount, and would have to pay increased premiums.  He decided to fight this determination in court, and was successful.

Read moreDriver takes ICBC to court to keep his safe drivers discount – and wins.

Court of Appeal Decision Places Heavy Burden on Cyclists Passing On the Right

Earlier this month, the British Columbia Court of Appeal released its reasons in the case of Ormiston v. ICBC, 2014 BCCA 276.  In this case, an injured cyclist was found totally at fault for an accident that occurred while the cyclist was passing a vehicle on its right, contrary to the Motor Vehicle Act.  As a cyclist myself, I agree that cyclists must endeavour to follow the rules of the road – however, this case highlights problems with the legal framework that governs how motorists and cyclists are to share the road, and the associated problems in adjudicating negligence cases involving cyclists.

Read moreCourt of Appeal Decision Places Heavy Burden on Cyclists Passing On the Right

Illegal Income in a Personal Injury Claim

In a personal injury action, the injured party can claim against the defendant for both past income loss (being their actual lost income up to the date of the trial), as well as for potential future lost income earning ability (called a “loss of capacity” claim).  In both cases, the plaintiff must satisfy the court on a balance of probabilities that they have suffered these losses, as well as the amount of the loss.  In many cases, past wage loss can be a simple calculation – for example, a plaintiff can use pay stubs, or income tax returns to show how what their earnings were up to the accident, and can readily calculate how much income was lost – for example, if the plaintiff earned $600 a week, and was off for two weeks, their lost income is easily calculated to be $1,200.   Bringing a claim for lost income can be tricky if your income comes from more unorthodox sources.

Read moreIllegal Income in a Personal Injury Claim

Traumatic Brain Injury and Homelessness

A recently published Canadian study reveals a frighteningly high correlation between homelessness and traumatic brain injury.  This study was funded by the St. Michael’s Hospital Head Injury Clinic in Toronto, the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Ontario Neurotrauma Foundation.

Read moreTraumatic Brain Injury and Homelessness

Injured, Poor, and Living Off of ICBC Benefits

Parties injured in a motor vehicle accident in BC have access to no-fault disability benefits and payment of some treatment costs through ICBC.  If the injuries were caused by another driver who as at fault, the injured party can bring a lawsuit to recover their additional losses.  In reality, this can play out very differently for individuals, depending on their economic status.  Parties that were barely scraping by before suffering injuries in a motor vehicle accident, are at a comparative disadvantage to those parties that have access to savings or outside streams of incomes, due to a number of compounding factors.

Read moreInjured, Poor, and Living Off of ICBC Benefits

Calculating ICBC Disability Benefits

If you are injured in a motor vehicle accident in British Columbia that prevents you from working, you may be entitled to disability benefits, even if the accident was your fault.  This is because in British Columbia,  we have a “no-fault” benefit scheme which provides wage loss benefits, death benefits, and medical benefits that are available to most people injured in a motor vehicle accident in BC (and for BC residents injured in the states, or elsewhere in Canada).  These benefits are set out in Part 7 of the BC Insurance Vehicle Regulation (which is why sometimes they are referred to as “Part 7 Benefits”).

Read moreCalculating ICBC Disability Benefits

Wildlife Collisions and ICBC Cases

Small business law advice from Velletta

Collisions with wildlife are an unfortunate reality for motorists in British Columbia.  According to some statistics, in an average year in BC, four people are killed, 384 motorists are injured, and at least 6100 animals are recorded as killed.   Here in Victoria, the abundance of deer on the roadways has resulted in some municipalities proposing drastic measures.  In personal injury lawsuits, ICBC adjusters and defence lawyers often seek to deny compensation to parties injured in a collision involving wildlife by claiming that the accident was “inevitable”, and not the result of any driver’s negligence.  However, each case turns on its own facts.

Read moreWildlife Collisions and ICBC Cases

Special Considerations for New Mothers in Personal Injury Actions

Family law, Velletta & Company, Victoria, BC

Our office recently resolved an ICBC claim for a young woman who suffered soft-tissue injuries in a motor vehicle accident while she was five months pregnant.  Of particular interest in this case was the calculation of a non-pecuniary damage award (sometimes called “pain and suffering” damages).

Read moreSpecial Considerations for New Mothers in Personal Injury Actions

ICBC Motor Vehicle Accidents and WorkSafe Claims

Immigration law, Velletta & Company, Victoria, BC

If you were injured in a motor vehicle accident while at work, you may be barred from bringing a lawsuit to claim compensation for your injuries. If you fall into this category, it is important that you understand your rights, and the rules that apply to you.

Read moreICBC Motor Vehicle Accidents and WorkSafe Claims

“In-Trust” Claims – Compensation for Family Caregivers

Following a serious accident, it is often necessary for people suffering from an injury or a disability to rely on those close to them to lend a helping hand in the form of nursing services and household duties like cooking and cleaning, and driving.  If you are lucky, you will have an army of close friends and family members reaching out to lend a helping hand.  As a society, we rely on the unpaid labour of these unsung heroes to lend a helping hand and into pick up the slack where our public health system lets off.    For those that are injured as a result of somebody else’s negligence, it is possible to claim compensation in a personal injury lawsuit to compensate close family members for their efforts.  Often a personal injury can be devastating and disruptive to entire families, and it is important that this form of compensation is not overlooked.

Read more“In-Trust” Claims – Compensation for Family Caregivers

“Hit and Run” accidents and ICBC

In an ordinary personal injury lawsuit,  the plaintiff will need to know who is responsible for their injuries, so that the court can find that party responsible.   For example, if you were badly injured by a passerby who strikes you with their umbrella, and flees the scene, you may find yourself in the unfortunate position that you won’t be compensated for the pain and suffering, lost wages and expenses you might suffer from your injuries.  Thankfully, our laws in British Columbia do provide some protection to individuals who are injured in a “hit and run”, that is, by a negligent motorist who feels the scene of the accident and remains unidentified.

Read more“Hit and Run” accidents and ICBC

What are Court Costs?

Partnership and business law, Victoria BC , Velletta & Company

Most British Columbians who pursue their personal injury claims through a lawsuit will do so with the assistance of legal counsel.  Legal fees are typically very expensive.  The vast majority of injured plaintiffs will hire a lawyer on a contingency fee basis, meaning that they will be paid a percentage of the total settlement or judgment, and usually the lawyer doesn’t get paid until the case is over. As a personal injury lawyer, clients will often ask me, “Can I sue ICBC or the other party for all of my legal costs?”  My answer to this question is as follows: not really.

Read moreWhat are Court Costs?