与孩子一起搬迁:单亲家庭知识

你是否与配偶分开并想与孩子一起搬家?在搭乘飞机之前,您需要提出一些关键问题以及需要注意的某些因素。

首先,您的孩子与您的前配偶一起度过更多时间吗?如果是这样,法院更有可能允许您与您的孩子一起搬迁,而不是孩子与父母同等的育儿时间。如果您的孩子与您和您的前配偶一起享受平等的育儿时间,那么法院考虑的唯一考虑因素是您孩子的最佳利益。

如果您与前配偶没有相同或接近相等的养育时间,则考虑因素会有所不同。法院将要求:

  1. 您已提出合理和可行的安排建议,以保护您孩子与其他父母,与其接触的人以及在其生活中发挥重要作用的人之间的关系;和
  2. 您提议的搬迁是出于善意。

什么是合理和可行的安排?

如果是 汉森诉弗格森诉法院认为,母亲提出合理和可行的安排,通过分担所有旅行费用,保护父亲与子女的关系,每年两次带着孩子返回维多利亚,将所有可用的旅行点转移给父亲使用,并在他出海时提供定期的Skype联系和电子邮件报告。

虽然每个案例都不同,但分担旅行费用,计划回家旅行以及确保儿童与其他父母保持联系,这些都是法院认为合理可行的安排。请记住,法院希望看到您的孩子能够与其他父母保持关系。

关于搬迁的诚意是什么意思?

诚信的定义是 s.69(6) 家庭法法案 包括:

  • 建议搬迁的原因;
  • 拟议的搬迁是否有可能提高儿童及移民监护人的整体生活质量,包括增加情绪健康或经济或教育机会;
  • 是否有60天的重新安置意向通知;和
  • 书面协议或订单中对重新安置的任何限制。

因此,如果您能够满足上述法院的要求,那么搬迁被认为符合儿童的最大利益,因此应予以批准,除非子女的另一方父母另外满足法院的要求。

回到案例 汉森诉弗格森诉 法院发现母亲已经证明安大略省的生活费用远低于维多利亚州的生活费用,而且提议的措施计划得很好。通过大家庭和男友的支持,母亲将在安大略省获得更多的情感支持。鉴于她是主要的照顾者,这将对孩子产生涓滴效应。

法院明确指出:

[48]作为主要照顾者,母亲一般生活质量的这种改善也将使儿童受益。然而,除了RW之外,母亲和孩子都没有与彭布罗克的任何人有个人联系,孩子们将远离他们与父亲,祖母,阿姨和堂兄的关系。当然,这是主要的问题,但它本身并没有表现出缺乏诚意。这些孩子很年轻,他们还没有在他们的直系亲属之外建立对他们来说很重要的日常生活。适应远离父亲和家人的新生活可能对他们构成挑战,但他们将与他们的母亲在一起,他们也有非常紧密的联系。考虑到母亲计划有更多时间陪伴他们并将他们安置在日托中,他们会遇到其他孩子,我希望他们能够在新环境中合理地快速社交。

[49]在这种情况下,母亲已经考虑到这一举动对她孩子的情绪健康的影响。尽管与父亲分离,我发现搬迁可能会提高他们的生活质量。

 

如果您正考虑与您的孩子一起搬迁到新的城市,请联系 Velletta&Company 今天。我们很乐意为您提供正确的程序建议,并帮助您满足上述要求。

 

关于作者:

Jade Fraser在Shawnigan湖长大,非常自豪地称维多利亚为她的家。在完成法律教育之前,她在不列颠哥伦比亚大学完成了本科学位,获得了理学学士学位。在沙特阿拉伯和法国等地居住之后,Jade获得了一系列独特的经历,这有助于她决定出国旅游以寻求法律教育。点击了解更多有关Jade的信息 这里

最佳分离协议:更多关于流程而不是产品

The_best_seperation_agreement

作为家庭,分居和离婚律师,与客户一起解决关系破裂问题就是我们的工作。这是大多数人生活中最重大的事件之一;在那里与死亡和税收。

 

令人惊讶的是,过程部分对所有这些都是最重要的。无论多么诱惑,可以认为你只需下载空白协议,你就不能。就像有机食品一样,它不是有机的苹果,而是整个过程:它是种子,土壤,营养物质,收获,处理和交付,它会传播到你的盘子里。

 

同样,分居协议不仅仅是文字和纸张,也不是将相应的支票放在方框中的电子产品。在这里,我们将讨论基本的考虑因素,同时也解释将为独立未来做好准备的过程。

 

螺母和螺栓

分居协议类似于亲密关系中两个人之间的所有协议,无论是婚姻,同居甚至是遗嘱。但是,它们与您可能签订的所有其他合同大不相同。以下是通常需要的内容:

 

  • 协议必须是书面形式
  • 协议必须确定各方及其权利和义务
  • 协议必须合法。这意味着它不能提供权利或迫使他人违法而做,并且有时可能必须符合各种立法。例如,如果有关系的孩子,则不能跳过子女抚养费。
  • 协议的每一方必须有能力签订协议并自由地签署协议。大多数时候,他们必须是成年人,但作为父母或配偶的孩子也可以签订具有约束力的协议。
  • 各方必须在证人面前签署协议
  • 各方必须进行全面的财务披露。

 

过程解释了

处理家庭破裂,分居,离婚和婚姻不和谐的所有专业人士都明白,每一种关系即将结束都有复杂的现实和个人情况。这是流程发挥作用的地方。当向后看以确定它是否公平时,该过程通常是放在显微镜下的部分。除非你公平地谈判,分享信息,否则你有正确的理解并且可以证明这些项目已经发生;你可能遇到麻烦了。

 

现在人们签订合同或分居协议的原因是为了确保他们的协议具有可执行性,公平性和有效性。正式分离协议的替代方案包括结算时间,同意令或审判后的订单几乎总是比分离协议更昂贵,而分离协议的平均成本为2,500美元至10,000美元。

 

相比之下,去法院解决家庭问题或者搁置一个糟糕的协议,你将会看到5000美元到超过100,000美元的法律费用。

 

从本质上讲,分居协议及其条款应与您的生活相互交织,如果做得正确,任何一方都不需要改变它。在适当的情况下,审查条款可以纳入各个主题领域。这听起来很难,对吗?我们都在改变,似乎一直都在。那么一个协议如何适应所有这些变化呢?

 

我们将与您合作,确保您了解分离协议中的内容。您将具体了解每个术语的含义以及向您提供的权利和义务。同样经常被忽视的是您可能通过“分居协议”给予的权利和义务,如果没有仔细的计划,它们可能会永远丢失。这是一个重要的观点,因为,除非你考虑过一种特殊的可能性,否则其他律师可以而且会辩称它没有被考虑,因此应该将协议搁置一旁。

 

法院撤销分居协议的典型原因是:

– 缺乏完整,完整和诚实的财务披露 仅仅陈述你知道或意识到对方的财务状况真的不够。证据,通常是宣誓的财务报表,需要证明,否则协议可能很容易被搁置,现在更加明确 家庭法法案 在第5条中充分披露法律。

– 胁迫,胁迫和不合情理 这些可以用各种方式解释,但你必须记住,法院理解当事人可能有情感和其他因素,这些因素可能构成对输入合同的人施加不公平的力量。一个例子包括没有足够时间考虑协议的人,因为某些事件迫在眉睫,这种因素在很多情况下导致协议被搁置。

– 未能获得独立法律意见 人们常常对此感到惊讶,但考虑到许多必要的考虑因素,即使是善意和友好的分离方也可能面临被抛弃的协议,因为一方或双方都没有咨询律师,因此不知道什么权利和他们通过签订分居协议而失去的义务。

 

作为一名专注于家庭成员生活中不同需求的律师,我很荣幸能够在这个艰难时刻增加价值和理解。我们经常能够为这些讨论增加重要价值,通常这可以实际节省税收和法律费用。我们有信心使用我们的服务,旨在以最及时和最具成本效益的方式实现这一目标。在家庭事务中,我们经常采用各种技术,包括多种争议解决机制,并始终采用策略来为您提倡。

 

 

Michael_JakemanMichael拥有阿尔伯塔大学的本科学位,理学学士学位和维多利亚大学法学专业的法学博士学位。迈克尔为像你这样的个人提供服务,自2006年他致电不列颠哥伦比亚省律师协会和艾伯塔省律师协会以来一直保护个人权利.Michael认为,客户是我们专业的核心,并通过与两者的咨询工作为这一追求服务于法律专业。不列颠哥伦比亚省加拿大律师协会和维多利亚大学法学院。 了解有关杰克曼先生的更多信息

 

 

“信托”索赔 - 家庭照顾者的赔偿

在发生严重事故之后,患有伤害或残疾的人通常需要依靠靠近他们的人以护理服务和家务劳动的形式伸出援助之手,如烹饪,清洁和驾驶。如果你运气好的话,你会有一群亲密的朋友和家人伸出援助之手。作为一个社会,我们依靠这些无名英雄的无偿劳动,伸出援助之手,汲取我们的公共卫生系统所释放的松懈。对于那些因其他人的疏忽而受伤的人,可以在人身伤害诉讼中要求赔偿,以补偿亲密的家庭成员的努力。人身伤害往往对整个家庭造成破坏性和破坏性,重要的是不要忽视这种形式的补偿。

阅读更多“信托”索赔 - 家庭照顾者的赔偿

Relocating with Children: The Single Parent Know-Alls

Are you separated from your spouse and thinking about moving with your child? Before jumping on a plane, there are key questions that you need to ask and certain factors that you need to be aware of.

Firstly, does your child spend more time with you then they spend with your ex-spouse? If so, a court is more likely to allow you to relocate with your child than if the child spends equal parenting time with both parents. If your child spends equal parenting time with both you and your ex-spouse, then the only consideration a court takes into account is what is in the best interest of your child.

If you do not have equal, or near equal, parenting time with your ex-spouse then the considerations are different. A court will require that:

  1. You have made a proposal for reasonable and workable arrangements to preserve your child’s relationship with their other parent, persons who have contact with them, and persons who play significant roles in their lives; and
  2. Your proposed relocation is made in good faith.

What are reasonable and workable arrangements?

In the case of Hansen v. Ferguson, 2015 BCSC 588 the court found the mother proposed reasonable and workable arrangements to preserve the father’s relationship with the children by sharing all travel costs, returning to Victoria twice a year with the children, transferring all available travel points to the father for his use, and providing regular Skype contact and email reports when he was at sea.

Although every case is different, sharing the cost of travel, planning trips home, and ensuring the children remain in contact with the other parent are all factors that the courts will consider as reasonable and workable arrangements. Keeping in mind the courts want to see that your child will be able to maintain his or her relationship with their other parent.

What is the meaning of good faith with regards to relocation?

Good faith is defined in s.69(6) of the Family Law Act and includes:

  • the reasons for the proposed relocation;
  • whether the proposed relocation is likely to enhance the general quality of life of the child and, if applicable, of the relocating guardian, including increasing emotional well-being or financial or educational opportunities;
  • whether 60 days’ notice of an intention to relocate was given; and
  • any restrictions on relocation contained in a written agreement or an order.

Accordingly, if you can satisfy the court of the above, then the relocation is presumed to be in the best interests of the child and should thus be granted, unless the children’s other parent satisfies the court otherwise.

Returning to the case of Hansen v. Ferguson the court found that the mother had shown her cost of living would be substantially less in Ontario to that of Victoria, and the proposed move was well planned. The mother would have more emotional supports in Ontario through extended family and support of her boyfriend.  This would have a trickle-down effect on the children, given that she was the primary caregiver.

The court specifically stated that:

[48]As the primary caregiver, this improvement in the mother’s general quality of life will also benefit the children. However, neither the mother nor the children have personal connections with anyone in Pembroke other than R.W., and the children will be far away from their father, grandmother, aunt and cousin, with whom they have established close bonds. This is, of course, the primary concern, but it does not on its own show an absence of good faith. These children are very young and they have not yet established routines outside of their immediate family lives that are important for them. Adapting to a new life away from their father and his family may be challenging for them, but they will be with their mother with whom they also have very close bonds. And given the mother’s plan to have more time with them and to place them in daycare where they will meet other children, I would expect them to socialize in their new environment reasonably quickly.

[49] In this case, the mother has given a lot of consideration to the impact of this move on her children’s emotional well-being. Despite the separation from the father, I find that the relocation will likely enhance the general quality of their lives.

 

If you are thinking about relocating to a new city, with your child, please contact Velletta & Company today. We would be happy to advise you on the proper procedure and help you satisfy the above requirements.

 

About the Author:

Jade Fraser grew up in Shawnigan Lake and is very proud to call Victoria her home. Before pursuing her education in law, she completed her undergraduate degree at the University of British Columbia obtaining a Bachelor of Science. After living in places such as Saudi Arabia and France, Jade gained a unique set of experiences which contributed to her decision to travel abroad in pursuit of her legal education. Find out more about Jade by clicking HERE

The Best Separation Agreement: more about Process than Product

The_best_seperation_agreement

As family, separation, and divorce lawyers, working with clients on the breakdown of a relationship is what we do. This is one of the biggest events in most people’s life; right up there with death and taxes.

 

The process part is surprisingly the most essential to all of this. No matter how luring it may be to think that you can just download a fill in the blank agreement, you can’t. Just like organic food, it’s not the apple that is organic but the entire process: it is the seed, soil, nutrients, harvest, handling and delivery that has it travel to your plate.

 

Likewise, a Separation Agreement is not just words and paper or an electronic product that puts the appropriate checks in the boxes. Here we will go over the nuts and bolts considerations but also give an explanation of the process that will set you up for an independent future.

 

NUTS AND BOLTS

Separation Agreements are similar to all agreements between two people in an intimate relationship, be it marriage, cohabitation or even wills. However, they are far different than all other contracts you might enter into. Here is what is typically required:

 

  • The agreement must be in writing
  • The agreement must identify the parties and their rights and obligations
  • The agreement must be lawful. This means that it cannot provide rights or oblige another to do something against the law and may at times have to conform with various legislation. For instance, you cannot skip child support if there is a child of the relationship.
  • Each party to the agreement must have the ability to enter into the agreement and do so freely. Most of the time they must be an adult but a child who is a parent or a spouse may also enter into a binding agreement.
  • Each party must sign the agreement in front of a witness
  • Each party must make full financial disclosure.

 

THE PROCESS EXPLAINED

All professionals who deal with family breakdown, separation, divorce and matrimonial discord understand that there are complex realities and personal circumstances behind every relationship coming to an end. This is where the process comes into play.  The process is often the part that is put under a microscope when looking backward to see if it was fair. Unless you fairly negotiated, shared information, had proper understanding on your side and can demonstrate that those items took place; you may be in trouble.

 

Now the reason that people have a contract or Separation Agreement is to ensure that their agreement is enforceable, fair and valid. Alternatives to a formal Separation Agreement include minutes of settlement, consent orders or orders after trial are almost always more costly than a Separation Agreement which will cost an average of $2,500 to $10,000.

 

Compare that to going to court to resolve family issues or having a bad agreement set aside and you will each be looking at $5,000 to over $100,000 in legal fees.

 

Essentially, a Separation Agreement and its terms should become intertwined with your respective lives and, if done correctly, neither party will need to change it. In appropriate circumstances, a review clause can be incorporated in various topic areas. This sounds tough, right? We all change, seemingly all the time. So how does one agreement accommodate all those changes?

 

This is where we will work with you to ensure that you understand what is in a Separation Agreement. You will know specifically what is meant by each term and what rights and obligations are being provided to you. Equally and often overlooked at first are the rights and obligations that you may be giving away with the Separation Agreement and without careful planning, they may be lost forever. This is an essential point, since, unless you have contemplated a particular possibility, other lawyers could and will argue that it was not considered and so should be a reason to set the agreement aside.

 

The typical reasons a court will set aside a Separation Agreement are:

– Lack of full, complete and honest financial disclosure it is really not adequate to simply state you know or are aware of the other’s finances. Evidence, usually a sworn financial statement, will need to be demonstrated otherwise the agreement may easily be set aside, and this is even more clear now that the Family Law Act makes full disclosure a law at section 5.

– Duress, coercion, and unconscionability these can be interpreted in a variety of ways but you have to remember that the court understands that parties potentially have emotions and other factors that can amount to unfair force being exerted against a person who enters a contract. One example would include someone not having sufficient time to consider the agreement because some event was imminent, such a factor has on many occasions led to agreements being set aside.

– Failure to obtain independent legal advice people are often surprised at this but given the many necessary considerations even well intention and amicable separating parties may be faced with an agreement being thrown out because one or both of the parties did not consult a lawyer and as such were not aware of what rights and obligations they were losing by entering into a Separation Agreement.

 

As a lawyer who focuses on the diverse needs of family members at a specific point in their lives, I feel privileged to add value and understanding at this difficult time. We are often able to add significant value to these discussions and typically this can come in actual savings of taxes, and legal fees. We are confident in employing our services and aim to do this in a way that brings you the most timely and cost-effective results. In family matters, we often employ various techniques which include a multitude of dispute resolution mechanisms and always employ a strategy to advocate for you.

 

 

Michael_JakemanMichael has an undergraduate degree, a bachelor of science, from the University of Alberta and a professional degree in law, a juris doctor, from the University of Victoria. Michael serves individuals like you and has been protecting individuals rights since his call to both the bar association of British Columbia and Alberta in 2006. Michael believes clients are central to our profession and has served the legal profession in this pursuit through consulting work with both the Canadian Bar Association of British Columbia and the Faculty of Law at the University of Victoria. Learn More about Mr. Jakeman

 

 

“In-Trust” Claims – Compensation for Family Caregivers

Following a serious accident, it is often necessary for people suffering from an injury or a disability to rely on those close to them to lend a helping hand in the form of nursing services and household duties like cooking and cleaning, and driving.  If you are lucky, you will have an army of close friends and family members reaching out to lend a helping hand.  As a society, we rely on the unpaid labour of these unsung heroes to lend a helping hand and into pick up the slack where our public health system lets off.    For those that are injured as a result of somebody else’s negligence, it is possible to claim compensation in a personal injury lawsuit to compensate close family members for their efforts.  Often a personal injury can be devastating and disruptive to entire families, and it is important that this form of compensation is not overlooked.

Read more“In-Trust” Claims – Compensation for Family Caregivers