与孩子一起搬迁:单亲家庭知识

你是否与配偶分开并想与孩子一起搬家?在搭乘飞机之前,您需要提出一些关键问题以及需要注意的某些因素。

首先,您的孩子与您的前配偶一起度过更多时间吗?如果是这样,法院更有可能允许您与您的孩子一起搬迁,而不是孩子与父母同等的育儿时间。如果您的孩子与您和您的前配偶一起享受平等的育儿时间,那么法院考虑的唯一考虑因素是您孩子的最佳利益。

如果您与前配偶没有相同或接近相等的养育时间,则考虑因素会有所不同。法院将要求:

  1. 您已提出合理和可行的安排建议,以保护您孩子与其他父母,与其接触的人以及在其生活中发挥重要作用的人之间的关系;和
  2. 您提议的搬迁是出于善意。

什么是合理和可行的安排?

如果是 汉森诉弗格森诉法院认为,母亲提出合理和可行的安排,通过分担所有旅行费用,保护父亲与子女的关系,每年两次带着孩子返回维多利亚,将所有可用的旅行点转移给父亲使用,并在他出海时提供定期的Skype联系和电子邮件报告。

虽然每个案例都不同,但分担旅行费用,计划回家旅行以及确保儿童与其他父母保持联系,这些都是法院认为合理可行的安排。请记住,法院希望看到您的孩子能够与其他父母保持关系。

关于搬迁的诚意是什么意思?

诚信的定义是 s.69(6) 家庭法法案 包括:

  • 建议搬迁的原因;
  • 拟议的搬迁是否有可能提高儿童及移民监护人的整体生活质量,包括增加情绪健康或经济或教育机会;
  • 是否有60天的重新安置意向通知;和
  • 书面协议或订单中对重新安置的任何限制。

因此,如果您能够满足上述法院的要求,那么搬迁被认为符合儿童的最大利益,因此应予以批准,除非子女的另一方父母另外满足法院的要求。

回到案例 汉森诉弗格森诉 法院发现母亲已经证明安大略省的生活费用远低于维多利亚州的生活费用,而且提议的措施计划得很好。通过大家庭和男友的支持,母亲将在安大略省获得更多的情感支持。鉴于她是主要的照顾者,这将对孩子产生涓滴效应。

法院明确指出:

[48]作为主要照顾者,母亲一般生活质量的这种改善也将使儿童受益。然而,除了RW之外,母亲和孩子都没有与彭布罗克的任何人有个人联系,孩子们将远离他们与父亲,祖母,阿姨和堂兄的关系。当然,这是主要的问题,但它本身并没有表现出缺乏诚意。这些孩子很年轻,他们还没有在他们的直系亲属之外建立对他们来说很重要的日常生活。适应远离父亲和家人的新生活可能对他们构成挑战,但他们将与他们的母亲在一起,他们也有非常紧密的联系。考虑到母亲计划有更多时间陪伴他们并将他们安置在日托中,他们会遇到其他孩子,我希望他们能够在新环境中合理地快速社交。

[49]在这种情况下,母亲已经考虑到这一举动对她孩子的情绪健康的影响。尽管与父亲分离,我发现搬迁可能会提高他们的生活质量。

 

如果您正考虑与您的孩子一起搬迁到新的城市,请联系 Velletta&Company 今天。我们很乐意为您提供正确的程序建议,并帮助您满足上述要求。

 

关于作者:

Jade Fraser在Shawnigan湖长大,非常自豪地称维多利亚为她的家。在完成法律教育之前,她在不列颠哥伦比亚大学完成了本科学位,获得了理学学士学位。在沙特阿拉伯和法国等地居住之后,Jade获得了一系列独特的经历,这有助于她决定出国旅游以寻求法律教育。点击了解更多有关Jade的信息 这里

谁得到了宠物?

Pet_Custody_Case

大多数宠物主人认为他们的宠物是他们家庭的一员而不仅仅是另一块财产。

通常情况下,当您与配偶分开时,宠物被视为财产,因此在您的家庭法案件中,您可能会在整体财产分割范围内分割。因此,宠物将遵守物权法原则 离婚法案 家庭法法案.

这意味着在不列颠哥伦比亚省,法院在回答“谁得到宠物?”的问题时会考虑以下问题。

  1. 谁购买了宠物?
  2. 宠物是送给其中一方的礼物吗?
  3. 谁支付了与宠物有关的大部分费用?
  4. 其中一方是宠物的注册所有者吗?
  5. 自双方分居以来,谁拥有和/或照顾宠物?
  6. 谁主要参与宠物的早期训练?
  7. 谁主要参与宠物的日常护理?

此外,法院明确表示:

(a)宠物不会以儿童等方式对待;

(b)法院不大可能考虑过占有宠物的临时申请;

(c)加拿大法院不太可能发现联合共享或某种形式的建设性信托补救措施是恰当的;

(d)宠物是个人财产的变体;

正如您所看到的,当法院考虑“谁得到宠物”的问题时,问题更多地与真正的所有者是谁有关,而不是对您和宠物最合适的安排。如果您和您的前伴侣都希望继续参与您的宠物生活,那么最好通过同意令或分居协议的形式通过同意解决您的宠物监护权纠纷。这是因为法官倾向于确保各方的某种终结性,同时尽量减少未来冲突的可能性。因为在法律规定,宠物被视为财产,因此法官不太可能下令对您的宠物进行某种形式的共享或共同监护。

然而,最近的决定对现状提出了挑战。纽芬兰和拉布拉多上诉法院案, 贝克诉哈米娜 2018年NLCA 15,涉及一个伯尔尼 - 贵宾犬混合物,Mya,被“视为家庭成员”。在购买这只狗之后,这对夫妇一起搬进了一小段时间,但是当这对夫妇分开时,一场法律斗争开始了,谁得到了她。虽然最后,大多数法院都考虑了现状财产的论点,但是Lois Hoegg法官部分反对,描述了谁拥有Mya的问题比仅仅购买她的人更复杂。法官Lois Hoegg考虑过如下问题:

  • 在关系中获得了动物吗?

 

  • 谁负担了动物的照顾和安慰的负担?

 

  • 谁支付了动物的保养费?

 

  • 谁在乎呢?

 

这可以为未来的案例定下基调。

总之,Velletta&Company当然可以帮助您建立一个处理问题的适当方式,或者继续建立您的法庭案件。 联系我们 今天!

关于作者:

Jade Fraser在Shawnigan湖长大,非常自豪地称维多利亚为她的家。在完成法律教育之前,她在不列颠哥伦比亚大学完成了本科学位,获得了理学学士学位。在沙特阿拉伯和法国等地居住之后,Jade获得了一系列独特的经历,这有助于她决定出国旅游以寻求法律教育。点击了解更多有关Jade的信息 这里

您需要了解的新家庭法法案

放弃

“家庭法法”(FLA)是2013年3月18日在不列颠哥伦比亚省生效的新法律。 FLA管理诸如育儿安排和分居后的责任,分割家庭财产,配偶抚养和子女抚养,保护令和合法父母身份等问题(尽管离婚法案(加拿大)也适用于已婚夫妇的某些问题)。

FLA包含了之前法律的许多变化,因此您过去听到的术语或信息现在可能有所不同。例如,监护权和访问权等词语已被取代(监护权和养育时间)。

FLA采取以儿童为中心的方法,部分是为了回应研究,这表明父母之间的冲突是儿童贫困结果的最强预测因素之一。 FLA代表着从关注父母的权利和关系转向关注孩子与每个父母之间的关系。

FLA旨在鼓励各方,特别是父母,在不诉诸法庭的情况下解决他们的分歧和任何法律纠纷。 FLA明确指出,庭外决议是首选。由于FLA鼓励通过谈判达成和解,因此它还规定了当事人和家庭纠纷解决专家(律师,调解员和其他法律专业人士)的要求。特别:

(1)为解决家庭法纠纷,家庭法纠纷的当事人必须向另一方配偶提供完整和真实的信息。根据不完整或不准确的信息协商的有关财务问题(维护,家庭财产分割和债务)的协议可能会被搁置或变更。

(2)律师必须对家庭暴力进行评估,以保护客户的安全,并协助客户选择解决家庭法纠纷的最佳方案。

(3)缔约方,律师和法官在就育儿安排达成协议或命令时,必须只考虑儿童的最大利益。如果存在家庭暴力,法院在决定孩子的最佳利益时,必须考虑到这一点。

普通法关系与新“家庭法”

新的“家庭法”赋予普通法律配偶产权

许多人没有意识到,根据现行的“家庭关系法”,未婚配偶没有财产权。当新的“家庭法”(FLA)于2013年3月18日生效时,这种情况将会改变。新的FLA就像分配财产和债务一样对待未婚配偶,就像已婚配偶一样,有一个重要区别:分居,未婚配偶有在分居之日起两年内提出财产和债务分割索赔。分居的已婚配偶没有时间限制。

[配偶是指与另一个人结婚,或者与另一个人在婚姻关系中生活至少两年的人。

FLA表示,分离的未婚配偶自离职之日起两年内提出财产和债务分割申请。自FLA于2013年3月18日生效以来,在该法案生效前不到两年的夫妻生效(2011年3月18日)必须遵守新规定。

那么适用于您的法律是什么?

如果您在2011年3月18日之前分居但尚未申请分割财产,则根据旧的“家庭关系法”或新的FLA,您不是配偶(至少是财产分割的目的)。如果您分居或在2011年3月18日之后但尚未申请分割财产,那么您是FLA下的配偶。您可以根据现有规则立即开始案例,但是一旦2013年3月18日到来,分割属性的新规则将适用于您,您将不得不更改您的应用程序以遵循新规则。在您分开时或者在2011年3月18日之后,您已经申请根据现有规则划分财产,您必须在2013年3月18日之前根据现有规则解决您的案件。 2013年3月18日之后,新规则将适用于您。

这对你意味着什么?

如果您是未婚配偶并希望对您的配偶拥有的财产份额提出索赔,您可能需要等到新FLA生效后。

但是,如果您是业主的未婚配偶,在新法律生效之前,您有必要迅速解决您的案件,否则新规则将适用于您。

显然,这些都是复杂的问题,但有一点是明确的:如果您的普通法关系即将结束或最近结束,您应该寻求有经验的家庭专家的建议。

Relocating with Children: The Single Parent Know-Alls

Are you separated from your spouse and thinking about moving with your child? Before jumping on a plane, there are key questions that you need to ask and certain factors that you need to be aware of.

Firstly, does your child spend more time with you then they spend with your ex-spouse? If so, a court is more likely to allow you to relocate with your child than if the child spends equal parenting time with both parents. If your child spends equal parenting time with both you and your ex-spouse, then the only consideration a court takes into account is what is in the best interest of your child.

If you do not have equal, or near equal, parenting time with your ex-spouse then the considerations are different. A court will require that:

  1. You have made a proposal for reasonable and workable arrangements to preserve your child’s relationship with their other parent, persons who have contact with them, and persons who play significant roles in their lives; and
  2. Your proposed relocation is made in good faith.

What are reasonable and workable arrangements?

In the case of Hansen v. Ferguson, 2015 BCSC 588 the court found the mother proposed reasonable and workable arrangements to preserve the father’s relationship with the children by sharing all travel costs, returning to Victoria twice a year with the children, transferring all available travel points to the father for his use, and providing regular Skype contact and email reports when he was at sea.

Although every case is different, sharing the cost of travel, planning trips home, and ensuring the children remain in contact with the other parent are all factors that the courts will consider as reasonable and workable arrangements. Keeping in mind the courts want to see that your child will be able to maintain his or her relationship with their other parent.

What is the meaning of good faith with regards to relocation?

Good faith is defined in s.69(6) of the Family Law Act and includes:

  • the reasons for the proposed relocation;
  • whether the proposed relocation is likely to enhance the general quality of life of the child and, if applicable, of the relocating guardian, including increasing emotional well-being or financial or educational opportunities;
  • whether 60 days’ notice of an intention to relocate was given; and
  • any restrictions on relocation contained in a written agreement or an order.

Accordingly, if you can satisfy the court of the above, then the relocation is presumed to be in the best interests of the child and should thus be granted, unless the children’s other parent satisfies the court otherwise.

Returning to the case of Hansen v. Ferguson the court found that the mother had shown her cost of living would be substantially less in Ontario to that of Victoria, and the proposed move was well planned. The mother would have more emotional supports in Ontario through extended family and support of her boyfriend.  This would have a trickle-down effect on the children, given that she was the primary caregiver.

The court specifically stated that:

[48]As the primary caregiver, this improvement in the mother’s general quality of life will also benefit the children. However, neither the mother nor the children have personal connections with anyone in Pembroke other than R.W., and the children will be far away from their father, grandmother, aunt and cousin, with whom they have established close bonds. This is, of course, the primary concern, but it does not on its own show an absence of good faith. These children are very young and they have not yet established routines outside of their immediate family lives that are important for them. Adapting to a new life away from their father and his family may be challenging for them, but they will be with their mother with whom they also have very close bonds. And given the mother’s plan to have more time with them and to place them in daycare where they will meet other children, I would expect them to socialize in their new environment reasonably quickly.

[49] In this case, the mother has given a lot of consideration to the impact of this move on her children’s emotional well-being. Despite the separation from the father, I find that the relocation will likely enhance the general quality of their lives.

 

If you are thinking about relocating to a new city, with your child, please contact Velletta & Company today. We would be happy to advise you on the proper procedure and help you satisfy the above requirements.

 

About the Author:

Jade Fraser grew up in Shawnigan Lake and is very proud to call Victoria her home. Before pursuing her education in law, she completed her undergraduate degree at the University of British Columbia obtaining a Bachelor of Science. After living in places such as Saudi Arabia and France, Jade gained a unique set of experiences which contributed to her decision to travel abroad in pursuit of her legal education. Find out more about Jade by clicking HERE

Who Gets the Pet?

Pet_Custody_Case

Most pet owners consider their pet to be a member of their family and not just another piece of property.

Normally when separating from your spouse pets are considered property and are therefore subject to be divided within the overall division of property in your family law case. A pet, therefore, would be subject to the property law principles in the Divorce Act and the Family Law Act.

This means that in British Columbia the courts consider the following when answering the question of, “who gets the pet?”

  1. Who purchased the pet?
  2. Was the pet a gift to one of the parties?
  3. Who has paid for the majority of the expenses related to the pet?
  4. Is one of the parties the registered owner of the pet?
  5. Who has had possession of and/or cared for the pet since the parties’ separation?
  6. Who was principally involved in the pet’s early training?
  7. Who was principally involved in the pet’s day-to-day care?

Additionally, courts have expressly stated that:

(a)  Pets will not be treated in a manner such as children;

(b)  Courts are unlikely to consider interim applications for pet possession;

(c)  Canadian Courts are unlikely to find that joint sharing or some form of constructive trust remedy is apt;

(d)  that pets are a variant of personal property;

As you can see, when a court considers the question of “who gets the pet” the question is more related to who the true owner is and not what arrangement is best for you and the pet. If you and your former partner both want to remain involved in your pet’s life, then it might be preferable to settle your pet custody dispute by consent in the form of a Consent Order or a Separation Agreement. This is because Judge’s tend to want to ensure some kind of finality for the parties while minimizing the likelihood for future conflict. Since, in the eyes of the law, pets are considered property, it is highly unlikely a judge would order some form of shared or joint custody of your pet.

Recent decisions, however, have challenged the status quo. The Court of Appeal of Newfoundland and Labrador case, Baker v. Harmina 2018 NLCA 15, involves a Bernese-poodle mix, Mya, who was “treated as a family member”. The couple had moved in together a short time after purchasing the dog, but when the couple separated a legal battle began over who got to keep her. Although In the end, the majority of the court considered the status quo property argument, Justice Lois Hoegg dissented in part, describing the issue of who owns Mya as being more complex than simply who bought her. Justice Lois Hoegg considered questions like:

  • Was the animal acquired during the relationship?

 

  • Who bore the burden of the care and comfort of the animal?

 

  • Who paid for the animal’s upkeep?

 

  • Who cared for it?

 

This could set the tone for future cases.

In conclusion, Velletta & Company can certainly help you in establishing an adequate way of dealing with the issue, or alternatively, moving forward in establishing your court case. Contact us today!

About the Author:

Jade Fraser grew up in Shawnigan Lake and is very proud to call Victoria her home. Before pursuing her education in law, she completed her undergraduate degree at the University of British Columbia obtaining a Bachelor of Science. After living in places such as Saudi Arabia and France, Jade gained a unique set of experiences which contributed to her decision to travel abroad in pursuit of her legal education. Find out more about Jade by clicking HERE

What You Need to Know About the New Family Law Act

Disclaimer

The Family Law Act (FLA) is a new law that came into effect on March 18, 2013 in British Columbia. The FLA governs issues such as parenting arrangements and responsibilities after separation, dividing family property, spousal maintenance and child maintenance, protection orders, and legal parenthood (although the Divorce Act (Canada) also applies to some of these issues in the case of married couples).

The FLA includes many changes from the previous law, and so the terminology or information you have heard about in the past may be different now. For example, words like custody and access have been replaced (guardianship and parenting time).

The FLA takes a child-centric approach, in part in an attempt to respond to research which indicates that conflict between parents is one of the strongest predictors of poor child outcomes. The FLA represents a shift from focusing on the rights of and relationship between the parents towards focusing on the relationship between the child and each parent.

The FLA was designed to encourage parties, and particularly parents, to resolve their differences and any legal disputes without going to court. The FLA specifically states that resolution out of court is preferred. Because the FLA encourages negotiated settlement, it also sets out requirements for parties and for family dispute resolution specialists (lawyers, mediators and other legal professionals). Specifically:

(1) Parties to a family law dispute are required to provide to the other spouse full and true information for the purposes of resolving a family law dispute. Agreements about financial issues (maintenance, division of family property and debt) which are negotiated based upon incomplete or inaccurate information are likely to be set aside or varied.

(2) Lawyers are required to assess for, among other things, family violence, in order to protect the client’s safety and to assist clients to choose the best option to resolve their family law disputes.

(3) Parties, lawyers and judges are required to consider only the best interests of the child when making agreements or orders about parenting arrangements. If family violence is present, the courts are required to take that into consideration when deciding what is in the child’s best interests.

Common Law Relationships and Separation

Separation advice Victoria BC lawyers

Even if you are not married, if you live with another person in a marriage-like relationship that person may be considered your spouse.

In order to be considered a spouse for the purposes of dividing property or debt you and the other person must have lived together in a marriage-like relationship for at least two years.

Read moreCommon Law Relationships and Separation

Common Law Relationships and the New Family Law Act

The new Family Law Act Gives Property Rights to Common Law Spouses

Many people do not realize that under the current Family Relations Act, unmarried spouses do not have property rights. That will change when the new Family Law Act (FLA) comes into force on March 18, 2013. The new FLA treats unmarried spouses just like married spouses when it comes to dividing property and debt, with one important difference: separated, unmarried spouses have to make a claim for property and debt division within two years of the date they separated. Separated married spouses do not have time limitation.

[A spouse is someone who is married to another person, or who has lived with another person in a marriage-like relationship for at least two years.]

The FLA says that separated, unmarried spouses have two years from the date of separation to bring an application for property and debt division. Since the FLA comes into effect on March 18, 2013, couples who separate less than two years before the Act comes into effect (so March 18, 2011) have to follow the new rules.

So what law will apply to you?

If you separated before March 18, 2011 but haven’t yet applied to divide property, you are not a spouse (at least for the purposes of property division) under either the old Family Relations Act or the new FLA.If you separated on or after March 18, 2011 but haven’t yet applied to divide property, then you are a spouse under the FLA. You can start a case now, under the existing rules, but once March 18, 2013 comes around, the new rules for dividing property will apply to you, and you will have to change your application to follow the new rules.In you separated on or after March 18, 2011 and you have already applied to divide property under the existing rules, you have until March 18, 2013 to resolve your case under the existing rules. After March 18, 2013, the new rules will apply to you.

What does this mean for you?

If you are an unmarried spouse and want to make a claim for a share of property owned by your spouse, you may want to wait until after the new FLA comes into effect.

But, if you are the unmarried spouse who is the property owner, it makes sense for you to resolve your case quickly, before the new law comes into effect, otherwise the new rules will apply to you.

Obviously, these are complicated issues, but one thing is clear: If your common law relationship is ending, or ended recently, you should seek the advice of an experienced family specialist.