视频|在加拿大注册成立

我是Michael Velletta,加拿大律师事务所Velletta&Company的创始合伙人。你为什么要选择不列颠哥伦比亚省作为你的合并之地?对于那些希望在加拿大开展业务的人来说,明显的选择权是不列颠哥伦比亚省。

 

不列颠哥伦比亚省是一个投资者友好的环境,拥有加拿大最现代的商业法。也许,即使是全球最现代化的地方。这些法律减少了官僚主义并增加了灵活性。在不列颠哥伦比亚省合并的一个有趣的特点是,在加入卑诗省的同时,您也可以加入到邻近的阿尔伯塔省。

 

事实上,不列颠哥伦比亚省的公司可以在加拿大的每个司法管辖区进行省外注册,并且可以在全球各地的几乎所有司法管辖区进行境外注册。成为不列颠哥伦比亚省公司的一个优势是,您可以使用加拿大法律体系,该体系被认为非常稳定并且备受尊重。它还与美国所有司法管辖区,澳大利亚,新西兰,英国以及全球许多其他公司商业管辖区很好地融合在一起。

 

BC公司的注册也为多伦多证券交易所,多伦多证券交易所,Venture(即初级市场)和加拿大证券交易所提供了很好的机会和接触加拿大资本市场的机会。此外,加拿大上市公司可以同时使用在加拿大境内上市的美国证券交易所(如纳斯达克,美国证券交易所和纽约证券交易所)提交的文件。

 

最后,在加拿大开展业务的成本比大多数其他司法管辖区更具吸引力。你可能会惊讶地发现加拿大的税收制度不是很积极,而且比大多数美国司法管辖区更具吸引力。

 

Velletta&Company擅长为所有公司事务的国际客户提供建议,特别是创建您的不列颠哥伦比亚省公司。我希望您能让Velletta&Company为您提供企业建议,并成为您团队的一员。

 

就业法第2部分 - 新视频!

 

嗨,我的名字是Eric Pedersen我是Velletta律师事务所和公司就业法的律师。今天我们将讨论另一个有建议性解雇的就业法主题。现在,建设性的解雇实际上只是一种奇特的方式来说,“我退出”给你的雇主同时行使和执行你所拥有的所有权利,如果你是一个无故解雇的员工。

不列颠哥伦比亚省的一般经验法则是,退出职位的雇员无权获得任何遣散费或任何他们正在离开工作的通知,而这些通知就在他们身上。但建设性解雇是法律中一个非常具体的类别,允许退出的雇员向雇主提出遣散费。这个想法是,尽管雇主没有通过他们的行为解雇员工,因为他们可能改变了员工的工作职责,改变了他们的工作。这就是他们几乎被解雇并拥有被解雇员工的所有权利。

雇主可能对雇员的工作场所雇佣承包商进行的每次微小变更都不会导致雇员拥有建设性解雇员工的权利。一个非常明显的例子是,如果你有一天担任首席执行官,那么你第二天出现就被降级为看门人了。嗯,你没有被解雇,但你几乎被解雇了。

所以你拥有所有相同的权利,要求解雇作为被解雇的员工,但并非所有案件都是黑人和白人。并且有很多灰色区域。在行使建设性解雇选择之前,请务必咨询律师。

 

W. Eric Pedersen是Velletta&Company民事诉讼部门的律师。 Pedersen先生与民事诉讼部门合作,为个人和企业取得了成功的结果,出现在省法院,最高法院和不列颠哥伦比亚省上诉法院。他的业务主要集中在以下领域:人身伤害和机动车索赔,就业和人权法,商业诉讼,房地产诉讼,一般保险诉讼,残疾保险诉讼和一般民事诉讼。

期票,欠票,欠条

期票:古代起源,现代重要性

据信,本票起源于中国古代,然后进入欧洲历史,最终成为现代商业的重要组成部分。在古代,钱是由贵金属制成的,而且远距离的任何大量资金转移都是一个重要的命题,所以期票演变成了一种较轻的替代品。现在,在许多不同的商业交易中使用期票以及私人之间的贷款是很常见的。加拿大人 汇票法案 (RSC,1985,c.B-4)在第176(1)条中为加拿大的期票创建了一个法定定义:

 

“由一个人向另一个人书面作出的无条件承诺,由制造商签署,在需要时或在固定或可确定的未来时间支付某笔资金或指定人员的订单或持票人。“

 

期票的好处

期票的主要好处是它明确记录了支付货款的义务,并在发行人违约时发生了强烈的诉讼理由。签署的承兑票据自签订之日起生效,并且是发行人的独立义务。如果该票据正确起草,票据持有人可以起诉,而不必证明被告发出票据,然后违约。

 

从战略上讲,签署承兑票据对于寻求收债的债权人来说是非常宝贵的。收藏工作是务实的,没有债权人愿意花更多的钱来执行债务,而不是债务实际上是值得的。诉讼费用昂贵,并且需要花费大量时间才能获得判决。为了提供更有效的判决方法,不列颠哥伦比亚省最高法院民事规则包含一个称为简易审判的程序。如果法官能够在不必听取现场证词的情况下决定问题并权衡当事人的可信度,则可以进行简易审判。签署的期票可以帮助债权人获得简易审判程序的资格,从而获得对债务人更快速和更具成本效益的判决。

 

期票的陷阱

 

1:钱中的一定数量

为了成为期票,该文件必须明确表明该票据的发行人无条件承诺支付特定金额。这使得期票与循环信贷额度区别开来。该说明必须明确说明发行人欠多少钱。如果金额不明确,那么您没有期票,因此是一个大问题。

 

2:兴趣

如果票据包含利息,则必须清楚如何计算利息。这符合要求,即票据是金钱的总和。利息必须能够客观地计算,这需要说明利率,以及计算利息的公式 - 例如简单利息或每月复利。

 

3:违约通知或付款要求

注释需要在发生默认值时明确说明。持有定期付款的许多票据包含一项条款,即票据持有人必须向票据发行人发出违约通知,并且发行人必须在发行人加速债务之前的一定时间内不能弥补违约。搜集。如果您是签署期票的人,您可能需要一个条款,让您有时间补救违约,而不需要记录持有人采取行动。另一方面,如果您是笔记的持有者,则需要确保正确通知默认值,并在采取收集操作之前等待必要的时间。

 

对于按要求支付的期票,您还可能希望在发票人提供需求后,在票据中包括发行人必须支付票据的时间。根据普通法,发行人有足够的时间来满足要求,而且必须考虑到票据的数额来评估。为了避免这个问题,你最好包括一段特定的时间,并明确发行人满足需求的时间。

 

对于分期付款票据的违约或按要求偿还票据的要求,票据应说明是否必须以书面形式发出通知,以及是否需要在特定地点给出。为了给予有效通知,票据持有人需要遵守这些要求,否则通知可能无效,因此不会触发发行人的义务。

 

4:限制期

期票可以根据需要到期,也可以包含必须付款的具体日期。对于这两种类型的票据,如果发行人违约,您必须提起民事诉讼以在适用的时效期限内强制执行该票据。该 限制法 [SBC 2012] c.13规定了开始民事诉讼的一般两年时效期限。此限制期从发现索赔之日开始计算。对于定期付款的票据,当票据的发行人默认付款并且未能在票据中指定的任何时间内补救违约时,通常会发现索赔。

 

然而,对于需求说明,情况可能大不相同。任何时候票据持有人都可以要求应付票据。根据普通法,发行票据时认为需求票据到期应付,而限制期则自该日起计算。幸运的是 限制法 第14条规定,对于按要求义务提出的索赔,在第一天发现索赔是在履行要求后未履行义务。这可以保护需求单的持有人在他们甚至发出履行要求之前,他们的索赔成为法规禁止。这仅保护不列颠哥伦比亚省的需求票据持有人,而其他司法管辖区可能没有宽容的限制期。

 

无论您的票据是分期付款还是按需付款,在违约后迅速开始执行程序至关重要。如果不这样做可能会导致您的索赔到期,然后您无法在法庭上收取金额。

 

5:默认加速

如果票据包含分期付款,并且错过了付款,则传统上只允许票据持有人起诉未付款。除非有一项规定允许持有人加速债务,否则票据持有人不能起诉全额票据。加速非常重要,因为如果票据的发行人开始支付欠款,您希望能够立即索取全部金额,而不必因错过付款而对每笔错过的付款开始单独诉讼。承兑票据受到反对意见书的法律规则的约束,这意味着法院将严格解释对起草该票据的一方的票据中的任何含糊不清,解决对有利于另一方的一词的含义的任何疑问。重要的是,该条款应明确起草,并且如果票据的发行人单次付款,则该票据的持有人有明确的权利要求将全部未付款项直接到期和欠款。

 

从实际的角度来看,你可能选择不加速票据,但这样做的威胁是一个强有力的讨价还价的筹码,以保持票据的发行人与他们的付款一致。

 

为什么聘请律师作为期票?

我们的办公室经常看到由当事人自己起草的期票,而没有法律援助的好处。这些笔记可以包括相对完善的笔记,尽管它们存在缺陷,但仍然可以执行,完全无用的纸张只提供虚假的安全感。更糟糕的是,我们看到客户借钱或者口头达成协议而根本没有签署承兑票据,这使得收取欠款可能更加困难。

 

对于律师来说,起草可执行的期票相对简单,可以为客户买得起。律师还将与您会面以审查您的具体情况,并可以就您的情况中的任何特定陷阱提供建议,或者您可以采取的其他措施来保护自己。在许多情况下,如果您正在借钱并且债务人拥有资产,您可能还希望获得对这些资产的担保,以便在债务人违约时您有抵押品。如果将律师起草的小费用与违约时可能遇到的巨大麻烦进行比较,很明显,如果您借出任何大笔金钱,那么聘请律师是明智之举准备一张期票。

总是在写作中得到它

如果他们曾经存在过,那么基于握手和口头协议开展业务的日子似乎早已不复存在。我们经常有客户来我们公司处理没有书面协议的纠纷。未能起草书面协议通常会导致复杂的事实情况,必须由我们公司和另一家律师事务所进行整理。例如,我们最近协助了一家客户,该客户卷入了一场针对小型企业的争议性合作纠纷。虽然我们最终在很大程度上成功地解决了这个问题,但如果当事方已经在书面协议中正式确定了他们的安排,那么它本来就会简单得多,并且可能完全避免争议。

 

黄金标准:

在可执行性方面,黄金标准通常是由双方在收到独立法律意见后签署的专业起草合同。根据协议的复杂程度,这样的合同可能要花费数千美元来准备;但是,如果合同的主题是有价值的,那么这笔费用就是在发生争议时为保护每一方而花费的金钱。如果你开始建立一个你希望持续多年盈利的商业伙伴关系,预先花一些钱将有助于保护这项业务,并有助于避免在争议发生后你的辛苦工作被律师费用所吞没。

 

对于更简单的协议,由律师起草合同可能会令人惊讶地具有成本效益,并且专业起草合同将使其安心,包括使其可执行的所有适当的法律手续。可悲的是,我们经常看到由各方自己起草的合同,这些合同可以从完全可执行的合同到缺乏使协议可执行所必需的基本法律确定性的合同。

 

重新考虑DIY合同:

我们通常建议人们不要尝试起草自己的合同,或者从互联网上取消合同,希望他们能够根据自己的特定需求定制合同。我们已经看到客户起草的加拿大客户合同包含诸如美国统一商法典的引用之类的错误 - 这在加拿大合同中几乎肯定不需要。

 

沟通清晰:

书面协议的另一个好处是良好的沟通和明确的条款有助于在争议开始之前制止。各方经常围绕商业关系中的困难或有争议的问题,希望避免冲突。实际上,如果不预先处理这些问题,潜在的冲突只会被推到未来,双方可能花费时间和金钱依赖他们认为存在的协议条款。

 

伤害控制:

作为最后的最后手段,即使书面通信采用短信或电子邮件的形式,将协议的重要条款以书面形式明确地传达给另一方也是有益的。短信和电子邮件可以作为证据,我们会在法庭上定期使用这些文件来保护客户的权利。

 

困难在于你不能仅仅通过向他们发送消息强迫某人。如果对方回复了他们同意您所声明的条款,那将是有益的。如果对方对这些条款提出异议,那么至少在早期时间和金钱消耗之前就已经发现了分歧。如果另一方只是忽略了包含这些条款的消息,并且不同意或不同意,那么可能会争辩说他们继续执行协议,知道您依赖于您向他们提出的条款。后一种情况远非理想,如果另一方不承认您的条款,您应该及早澄清您的协议。

 

总之,要小心那些拒绝写东西的人。如果有人擅自将你的口头协议改为书面形式,通常有一个理由,最好早点发现这个理由。

 

如果您正在寻求合适的购买和销售合同,合伙协议,股东协议或其他合同,或者如果您涉及商业纠纷,我们提供免费的半小时咨询,以讨论您的情况和法律需求。请随时与我们联系安排预约。

VIDEO | Incorporation in Canada

I am Michael Velletta, a founding partner of Canadian law firm Velletta & Company. Why should you choose British Columbia as your place to incorporate? For those desiring to do business in Canada the obvious jurisdiction of choice is British Columbia.

 

British Columbia is an investor friendly environment and has the most contemporary business laws in Canada. Perhaps, even the most contemporary anywhere on the globe. These laws reduce bureaucracy and increase flexibility. An interesting feature of incorporating in British Columbia is that at the same time you incorporate in BC you can also incorporate into Alberta, which is the neighboring province.

 

In fact British Columbia companies can be extra-provincially registered in every jurisdiction in Canada and can be extra-territorially register in just about every jurisdiction around the globe. One advantage of being a British Columbia company is that you have access to the Canadian legal system which is considered extremely stable and is very well-respected. It also meshes well with all US jurisdictions, Australia, New Zealand, Great Britain and many other corporate business jurisdictions around the globe.

 

A BC incorporation also gives you great opportunities and exposure to Canadian capital markets with the Toronto Stock Exchange that Toronto Stock Exchange, Venture, which is the junior market, and the Canadian Stock Exchange. In addition, companies that are listed companies in Canada can at the same time use documents filed in Canada on inter-listed U.S. stock exchanges such as NASDAQ, the American Stock Exchange and the New York Stock Exchange.

 

Finally, the cost of doing business in Canada is much more attractive than most other jurisdictions. You might be surprised to learn that the tax regime in Canada is not very aggressive, and is in deed much more attractive than most U.S. jurisdictions.

 

Velletta & Company is adept at advising international clients on all corporate matters, and particularly creating your British Columbia Corporation. I hope that you will let Velletta & Company provide you with corporate advice and be a part of your team.

 

Employment Law Part 2-NEW VIDEO!

 

Hi, my name is Eric Pedersen I’m a lawyer for Velletta and Company practicing employment law. Today we’re going to talk about another employment law topic which is constructive dismissal. Now the constructive dismissal is really just a fancy way to say, “I quit” to your employer to also at the same time exercise and enforce all of the rights that you would have if you were an employee who was fired without cause.

The general rule of thumb in British Columbia is that an employee who quits their position isn’t going to be entitled to any severance pay or any notice they’re walking away from the job and that’s on them. But constructive dismissal is a very specific category in the law that allows an employee who quits to bring a claim against the employer for severance. The idea is that although the employer hasn’t fired the employee they have by their conduct in the way that they might have changed the employee’s workplace duties changed their employment. Such to the point that they’ve pretty much been fired and have all of the rights of a fired employee.

Not every minor change that an employer might make to an employee’s employment contractor to their workplace will result in an employee having the rights of a constructively dismissed employee. A really obvious example would be if you were a CEO one day and then you showed up the next day you were demoted to janitor. Well you haven’t been fired but you have pretty much been fired.

So you have all of this same rights to claim for severance as an employee who was fired but not all cases are black and white. And there’s a lot of grey area. It’s important that you do consult a lawyer before exercising the option of constructive dismissal.

 

W. Eric Pedersen is a lawyer practising in Velletta & Company’s civil litigation department. Mr. Pedersen has worked with the civil litigation department to achieve successful outcomes for individuals and businesses, appearing in Provincial Court, Supreme Court, and the British Columbia Court of Appeal. His practice is focussed primarily on the following areas: Personal injury and motor vehicle claims, Employment and Human Rights Law, Commercial litigation, Real estate litigation, General insurance litigation, Disability insurance litigation and General civil litigation.

Promissory Notes

Promissory Notes: Ancient Origins, Modern Importance

Promissory notes are believed to have originated in ancient China, and then made their way into European history, before ultimately becoming an important part of modern business. In ancient times money was made of precious metal, and any large transfer of funds over a distance was a heavy proposition, so promissory notes evolved as a lighter alternative. Now it is common to use promissory notes in many different business transactions, and for loans between private individuals. The Canadian Bills of Exchange Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. B-4) creates a statutory definition in section 176(1) for promissory notes in Canada:

 

“an unconditional promise in writing made by one person to another person, signed by the maker, engaging to pay, on demand or at a fixed or determinable future time, a sum certain in money to, or to the order of, a specified person or to bearer.”

 

Benefits of Promissory Notes

The main benefit of a promissory note is that it clearly documents an obligation to pay money, and creates a strong cause of action in the event that the issuer defaults upon the note. The signed promissory note is effective from the time it is made, and is an independent obligation of the issuer. If the note is drafted properly, the holder of the note can sue upon it without having to prove much beyond the fact that the defendant issued the note, and then defaulted upon it.

 

Strategically, having a signed promissory note can be invaluable to a creditor seeking to collect upon a debt. Collections work is pragmatic, and no creditor wants to spend more money enforcing a debt than the debt is actually worth. Litigation is expensive, and it takes a significant amount of time to obtain a judgement. In order to provide a more efficient method of obtaining judgment, the British Columbia Supreme Court Civil Rules contain a process called a summary trial. A summary trial is available in cases where a judge is able to decide the issue without having to hear live testimony and weigh the credibility of the parties. A signed promissory note can help a creditor to qualify for the summary trial process, and as a result obtain a more rapid and cost effective judgment against the debtor.

 

Pitfalls of Promissory Notes

 

1: A Sum Certain in Money

In order to be a promissory note, the document must make it clear that the issuer of the note is unconditionally promising to pay a specific amount of money. This makes a promissory note distinguishable from a revolving line of credit. The note must make it clear how much is owed by the issuer of the note. If the amount is not clear, then you have no promissory note, and consequently a big problem.

 

2: Interest

If the note contains interest, it must be clear how interest is calculated. This ties in to the requirement that the note be for a sum certain in money. The interest must be capable of being objectively calculated, and this requires that the rate of interest be stated, along with the formula for how interest is calculated – e.g. simple interest, or interest compounded monthly.

 

3: Notice of Default or Demand for Payment

Notes need to make it clear when a default has occurred. Many notes with regular payments contain a provision that the holder of the note must give notice of default to the issuer of the note, and the issuer must fail to remedy the default within a certain period of time, before the issuer can accelerate the debt and collect. If you are the one signing the promissory note, you may want a provision that gives you time to remedy a default without the holder of the note taking collection actions. On the other hand, if you are the holder of the note, you need to make sure that you give notice of a default correctly, and wait the requisite amount of time before taking collection actions.

 

For promissory notes that are payable on demand, you will also likely want to include in the note the amount of time that the issuer has to pay the note, after demand has been given. Under the common law, the issuer had a reasonable amount of time to satisfy the demand, and this had to be assessed taking into consideration the amount of the note. You would be wise to include a specific amount of time in order to avoid this issue, and make it totally clear how much time the issuer has to satisfy the demand.

 

For both defaults on installment notes, or demands for repayment on demand notes, the note should specify whether the notice must be given in writing, and whether it needs to be given at a particular place. In order to give effective notice, the holder of the note will need to comply with these requirements, or else the notice may be ineffective and therefore not trigger the issuer’s obligations.

 

4: Limitation Periods

Promissory notes can be either due on demand, or else contain specific dates on which payments must be made. For both types of notes, if the issuer defaults, you must bring a civil action to enforce the note within the applicable limitation period. The Limitation Act [SBC 2012] c.13 creates a general two year limitation period to commence a civil action. This limitation period runs from the date that the claim is discovered. For a note with regular payments, a claim would usually be discovered when the issuer of the note defaults upon a payment and fails to remedy the default within any time specified in the note.

 

For demand notes however, the situation is potentially much different. A note payable on demand can be demanded by the holder of the note at any time. Under the common law, demand notes were considered to be due and payable when the note was issued, and the limitation period ran from that date. Fortunately, the Limitation Act contains section 14, which provides that for claims upon a demand obligation, the claim is discovered on the first day that there is a failure to perform the obligation after a demand for performance has been made. This protects the holder of a demand note from their claim becoming statute barred before they have even issued a demand for performance. This only protects the holders of demand notes in British Columbia, and other jurisdictions might have less forgiving limitation periods.

 

Whether your note is payable in installments, or due on demand, it is vital to commence your enforcement proceedings quickly after there is a default. Failing to do so might result in your claim expiring, and then you are left unable to collect upon the amount in court.

 

5: Acceleration on Default

When a note contains payment in installments, and a payment is missed, this traditionally only allows the holder of the note to sue for the missed payment. The holder of the note could not sue for the full amount of the note unless there is a provision allowing the holder to accelerate the debt. Acceleration is important, because if the issuer of the note starts missing payments, you want to be able to claim the whole amount owing immediately, and not have to commence a separate lawsuit for each missed payment as the payments are missed. Promissory notes are subject to the legal rule of contra proferentem, meaning that courts will strictly interpret any ambiguity in the note against the party who drafted it, resolving any doubt about the meaning of a term in favor of the other party. It is important that the provision is drafted clearly, and gives the holder of the note the unambiguous right to claim the entire outstanding amount as immediately due and owing if the issuer of the note defaults upon a single payment.

 

From a practical point of view, you might choose not to accelerate the note, but the threat of doing so is a powerful bargaining chip to keep the issuer of the note on track with their payments.

 

Why Hire a Lawyer for a Promissory Note?

Our office routinely sees promissory notes that were drafted by the parties themselves without the benefit of legal assistance. These notes can range from relatively well drafted notes that are still enforceable despite their flaws, to totally useless pieces of paper that provide nothing more than a false sense of security. Even worse, we see clients who loaned money or made an agreement verbally and did not get a signed promissory note at all, which makes it potentially much harder to collect the amount owed.

 

For a lawyer, drafting an enforceable promissory note is relatively simple, and can be done for the client affordably. The lawyer will also meet with you to review your specific circumstances, and can advise you about any particular pitfalls in your situation, or about additional steps that you can take to protect yourself. In many cases, if you are loaning money and the debtor has assets, you might also want to obtain security over those assets so that you have collateral in the event that the debtor defaults. When the small cost of having a lawyer draft the note is compared with the huge hassle you can face in the event of a default, it is clear that if you are lending any significant amount of money, you’d be wise to have a lawyer prepare a promissory note.

Always Get It in Writing

If they ever existed, the days of doing business based on a handshake and a verbal agreement seem to be long gone. We regularly have clients come to our firm with disputes in which there is no written agreement. The failure to draft a written agreement often results in a complicated fact situation that has to be sorted out by our firm and another law firm. For example, we recently assisted a client who had become embroiled in a contentious partnership dispute over a small business. While we ultimately resolved the matter with a large degree of success, it would have been much simpler, and a dispute may have been avoided entirely, if the parties had formalized their arrangement in a written agreement.

 

The Gold Standard:

In terms of enforceability, the gold standard is usually a professionally drafted contract, signed by both parties, after having received independent legal advice. Depending upon the complexity of the agreement, such a contract might cost several thousand dollars to prepare; however, if the subject matter of the contract is valuable, this cost is money well spent to protect each party in the event of a dispute. If you’re starting a business partnership that you expect to last for many profitable years, spending some money up front will help protect that business, and will help avoid your hard work being swallowed up in lawyers’ fees after a dispute develops.

 

For simpler agreements, it can be surprisingly cost effective to have a contract drafted by a lawyer, and having the contract professionally drafted will provide the peace of mind that it includes all of the proper legal formalities to make it enforceable. Sadly, we often see contracts that are drafted by the parties themselves, and these can range from perfectly enforceable contracts, to ones that lack basic legal certainties necessary to make the agreement enforceable.

 

Reconsider DIY Contracts:

We generally recommend that people do not attempt to draft their own contracts, or pull contracts from the internet in the hopes that they can tailor that general contract to their specific needs. We have seen client drafted contracts for Canadian clients contain errors such as references to the United States Uniform Commercial Code – something that you almost certainly do not want in a Canadian contract.

 

Clear Communication:

A further benefit of written agreement is that good communication and clear terms help stop disputes before they start. All too often parties skirt around the difficult or contentious issues in a business relationship, hoping to avoid conflict. In reality, by not dealing with these issues up front, the potential conflict is only pushed into the future, where both parties may have spent time and money in reliance upon agreement terms that they thought existed.

 

Damage Control:

As a final last resort, it can be beneficial to clearly communicate important terms of an agreement to the other party in writing, even if that written communication takes the form of text messages or emails. Text messages and emails are admissible as evidence, and we routinely utilize such documents in court to protect our clients’ rights.

 

The difficulty is that you cannot force terms upon someone merely by sending them a message. If the other party replies with their agreement to your stated terms, that would be beneficial. If the other party disputes the terms, then at least you have identified a disagreement early on, before time and money has been expended. If the other party just ignores your message containing the terms, and does not agree or disagree, then it may be possible to argue that they went forward with the agreement, knowing that you were relying upon the terms that you set out to them. The latter situation is a far from ideal, and if the other party does not acknowledge your terms, you should follow up to clarify your agreement, sooner rather than later.

 

In conclusion, beware of people who refuse to put things into writing. If someone balks at committing your verbal agreement to a written form, there is usually a reason, and it is better to find out sooner rather than later what that reason is.

 

If you are seeking a well drafted purchase and sale contract, partnership agreement, shareholders agreement, or other contract, or if you are involved in a business dispute, we offer a free half-hour consultation to discuss your situation and legal needs. Please feel free to contact us to schedule an appointment.