通过发布安全性删除留置权

一旦有人提出建造者留置权并开始诉讼,建造者留置权只有几种方式可以从留置权登记的财产的名称中删除。如果留置权存在缺陷,财产所有者可以申请将其移除。假设没有缺陷,那么在诉讼解决之前,所有者可能会被置于留置权上,并且留置权利人的任何判决都得到满足。当然,这对业主来说可能是一个巨大的问题,业主可能希望清算其物业的名称以安排新的融资或出售物业。

 

建筑师留置权法案[SBC 1997] C。 45(“法案”)为业主或对财产感兴趣的其他各方提供两种选择,以清除所有权的留置权。该法第23条允许在向法院支付留置权可收回的总金额后取消留置权。该金额将是留置权要求的总金额,或者在某些情况下,是向雇用留置权请求人的人存放担保的人所欠的金额。当留置权申请人被承包商或分包商雇用时,后一种情况就会出现,寻求解除留置权的人是所有人或合同链上方与留置权申请人没有直接合同关系的人。 第23节 如果您能够提供所需的担保金额,则可以更容易地解除留置权,然后将在法庭上进行处理,直到处理留置权要求或解决问题为止。

 

在许多情况下,将全部留置权索赔作为担保提出是成本过高的。留置权可能是一个似乎过多的金额,或者即使金额似乎并不过分,也可能太大而无法将全部金额存入法庭。如果所有人,承包商,分包商或其他利益方发布法院认为足以支付留置权要求的担保,第24条赋予法院更广泛的取消留置权要求的能力。 “足够安全”的概念开辟了更广泛的选择,而不是将现金作为担保。替代证券的两种常见形式是信用证和留置权债券。

 

信件

信用证由银行发行,基本上是银行对付款的保证。如果是留置权请求,银行将保证如果法院判决留置权请求人的判决,将支付留置权请求人的判决。银行是规避风险的,并且通常不愿在留置权索赔中发信用信,除非他们与寻求信用证的一方有长期关系。许多银行要求银行与要求提供信用证的一方之间有100%的现金担保,因此使用信用证作为留置权要求的担保通常是不切实际的。

 

连战债券

更常见的替代方案是由经批准的担保公司发行的留置权债券。不列颠哥伦比亚省最高法院司法常务官保留了一份被批准担任担保人的公司名单。这些公司可以发行债券,承诺支付留置权申请人获得的任何判决金额,然后可以向法院提交这些债券,以确保取消留置权。 该法第24条。 保证公司收取发行保证金的费用,并且还需要担保以确保如果要求他们兑现保证金,他们将被还清。然而,这种安全通常不如银行经常要求的100%现金保证那么繁重,使留置债券成为提供100%现金保障的实用替代方案。

 

将遗嘱从财产的名称中移除通常是必要的,特别是当留置权案件需要一段时间才能进入审判并最终以某种方式解决时。建设项目通常涉及融资,因此有必要在下一次融资抽取之前处理任何留置权索赔。该法为业主或其他利益方提供了两种通过提供担保来清算所有权的途径,这两种备选方案旨在确保留置权申请人不会因剥夺其所有权而丧失其权利。

 

如果您希望取消留置权,与律师联系并利用他们提供的指导和知识始终是有用的。 联系我们 今天要了解我们如何提供帮助。

 

关于作者

Cadeyrn Christie 是Velletta&Company的民事诉讼律师和商业律师。作为前任商人,企业主和高绩效运动员,Cadeyrn专注于为个人和企业提供动态代表。

自加入Velletta&Company以来,Cadeyrn Christie帮助客户在各种有争议的事务中实现具有成本效益的法律解决方案,包括商业纠纷,债务催收,人身伤害诉讼,房地产纠纷和建筑诉讼。 Cadeyrn代表不列颠哥伦比亚省各级法院的客户,包括在不列颠哥伦比亚省上诉法院提起上诉。

Removing a Lien by Posting Security

Once someone has filed a builders lien and started litigation, there are only a few ways that the builders lien is going to be removed from the title of the property on which the lien is registered. If there are defects in the lien, the owner of the property can apply to have it removed. Assuming that there are no defects, then the owner could potentially be stuck with the lien on title until the litigation is resolved and any judgment obtained by the lien claimant is satisfied. Of course, this poses a potentially huge problem for the property owner, who may want to clear the title of their property to arrange for new financing or to sell the property.

 

The Builders Lien Act [SBC 1997] c. 45 (the “Act”) creates two options for the property owner or other parties interested in the property to clear the lien from title. Section 23 of the Act allows removal of a lien upon paying into court the total amount recoverable under the lien. That amount will either be the total amount of the lien claim, or, in some circumstances, the amount that is owed by the person depositing security to the person who hired the lien claimant. The latter set of circumstances arises when the lien claimant was hired by a contractor or subcontractor, and the person seeking the discharge of the lien is an owner or someone higher up the contractual chain who has no direct contractual relationship with the lien claimant. Section 23 provides an easier avenue to have the lien discharged if you can provide the required amount of security, which will then be held in court until the lien claim is dealt with or the matter settled.

 

In many cases, it is cost-prohibitive to put up the full amount of the lien claim as security. The lien might be for an amount that seems excessive, or even if the amount doesn’t seem excessive it might be too large to place the full amount in court. Section 24 gives the court a broader ability to cancel a claim of lien if an owner, contractor, subcontractor, or other interested party posts security that the court considers sufficient for payment of the claim of lien. The concept of “sufficient security” opens up a broader range of alternatives than putting up cash as security. Two common forms of alternative security are letters credit and lien bonds.

 

Letters Credit

Letters credit are issued by a bank, and are essentially the bank’s guarantee that payment will be made. In the case of a lien claim, the bank would guarantee that the lien claimant’s judgment will be paid if the court awards judgment to the lien claimant. Banks are risk averse, and are often reluctant to issue letters credit in lien claims unless they have a long-term relationship with the party seeking letters credit. Many banks require 100% cash security as between the bank and the party who requested the letter of credit, and for this reason it is often impractical to use a letter of credit as security for a lien claim.

 

Lien Bonds

The more common alternative is a lien bond issued by an approved surety company. The Registrar of the Supreme Court of British Columbia maintains a list of companies approved to act as sureties. Those companies can issue bonds promising to pay the amount of any judgment obtained by the lien claimant, and those bonds can then be filed with the court to secure the removal of the lien under section 24 of the Act. The surety companies charge a fee for issuing the bond, and also require security to ensure that they will be paid back if they are required to make good upon their bond. That security however is usually less onerous than the 100% cash security often required by banks, making lien bonds a practical alternative to putting up 100% cash security.

 

Having a lien removed from the title of the property is often imperative, particularly when it can take some time for a lien case to go to trial and be finally resolved one way or the other. Construction projects usually involve financing that makes it necessary to deal with any lien claims before the next financing draw can be issued. The Act provides two avenues for the owner or other interested party to clear title by providing security, and both of those alternatives are designed to ensure that the lien claimant is not prejudiced by the removal of their lien from title.

 

If you are looking to have a lien removed, it is always useful to contact a lawyer and utilize the guidance and knowledge they offer. Contact us today to find out how we can help.

 

About the Author

Cadeyrn Christie is a civil litigation lawyer and business lawyer with Velletta & Company. A former tradesperson, business owner, and high performance athlete, Cadeyrn focuses his practice on providing dynamic representation to individuals and businesses.

Since joining Velletta & Company, Cadeyrn Christie has helped clients achieve cost effective legal solutions in a wide variety of contentious matters, including business disputes, debt collections, personal injury litigation, real estate disputes, and construction litigation. Cadeyrn has represented clients at all levels of court in British Columbia, including conducting an appeal in the British Columbia Court of Appeal.