限制期适用于“环境管理法”

不列颠哥伦比亚省 环境管理法 制定了有关污染场地修复的综合方案。该计划的核心是第47节 法案,允许承担补救场地费用的一方提起法院诉讼以收回补救费用。在一个典型的 环境管理法 行动中,已支付费用的一方将寻求该物业以前的业主和经营者的捐款。即使机制在 法案 是围绕“污染者付费”原则设计的 法案 使拥有或经营一个网站的各方难以逃避责任,因为举证责任在于那些当事人表明他们属于 法案 有限的例外情况见于第46条 法案。  结果,行动下 法案 通常可能涉及几十年来没有参与房产的政党。因此,在这样的争议中发现自己的各方经常提出的问题是BC是否存在 限制法 适用,或是否有任何与提出此类索赔相关的时间限制。

虽然 法案 在追溯所有以前的所有者和经营者可能被认定对清理负责的意义上,原告并没有无限期的时间来提起诉讼。在 First National Properties Ltd.诉Northland Road Services Ltd.。,2008 BCSC 569法院确认,“BC限制法”确实适用于根据“环境管理法”进行的补救索赔。在这种情况下,法院发现,一旦原告知道修复费用,限制时钟就开始运行了。在 JI Properties Inc.诉PPG Architectural Coatings Canada Inc.,2014 BCSC 1619,法院确认根据1996年“限制法”的六年限制适用。

在2012年通过之前 限制法, 似乎将对该修正案作出修正 环境管理法 可以随时提起诉讼。但是,当该立法通过时,没有对该立法作出相应的修改 环境管理法, 所以它现在仍然是 限制法 适用。因此,承担补救费用的原告应该迅速采取成本回收行动,如同 法案 两年的限制可能会发挥作用。此外,在未来的情况下仍需要考虑新的可发现性条款的影响(如果有的话) 限制法 有关成本回收的索赔。

关于作者:

W. Eric Pedersen是Velletta&Company民事诉讼部门的律师。 Pedersen先生与民事诉讼部门合作,为个人和企业取得了成功的结果,出现在省法院,最高法院和不列颠哥伦比亚省上诉法院。点击了解更多有关Eric的信息 这里.

Limitation Periods applicable to the Environmental Management Act

British Columbia’s Environmental Management Act sets out a comprehensive scheme with respect to the remediation of contaminated sites.  Central to that scheme is section 47 of the Act, which permits a party who has incurred the cost of remediating a site to bring a court action to recover the costs of remediation.  In a typical Environmental Management Act action, the party who has incurred the cost will seek contribution from the property’s previous owners and operators.  Even though the mechanisms in the Act are designed around the principle of “polluter pays”, the provisions of the Act make it difficult for parties who have owned or operated a site to escape liability, as the burden of proof is on those parties to show that they fall within one of the Act’s limited exceptions found in section 46 of the Act.  As a result, actions under the Act can often involve parties that have had no involvement with the property for decades.  As a result, a frequent question asked by parties finding themselves in such a dispute is whether or not the BC Limitation Act applies, or whether there are any time limits associated with bringing such a claim.

Although the Act does apply retroactively in the sense that all previous owners and operators the property can be found liable for the cleanup, a plaintiff does not have an indefinite time in which to bring their action.  In First National Properties Ltd. v. Northland Road Services Ltd., 2008 BCSC 569, the court confirmed that the BC Limitation Act does apply to remediation claims pursuant to the Environmental Management Act.  In that case, the court found that the limitation clock started running once the Plaintiff was aware of the cost to remediate.  In J.I. Properties Inc. v. PPG Architectural Coatings Canada Inc., 2014 BCSC 1619, the court confirmed that the six year limitation pursuant to the 1996 Limitation Act was applicable.

Prior to the passage of the 2012 Limitation Act, it appeared that an amendment would be made to the Environmental Management Act to the effect that an action could be brought at any time. However, when that legislation was passed, no consequential amendments were made to the Environmental Management Act, so it remains at this time that the Limitation Act applies.  Thus, a plaintiff who incurs remediation costs ought to bring their cost recovery action swiftly, as the Act’s two year limit will likely come into play.  Further, it remains to be considered in a future case what effect, if any, the discoverability provisions of the new Limitation Act have in respect of a cost recovery claim.

About the Author:

W. Eric Pedersen is a lawyer practicing in the civil litigation department at Velletta & Company. Mr. Pedersen has worked with the civil litigation department to achieve successful outcomes for individuals and businesses, appearing in Provincial Court, Supreme Court, and the British Columbia Court of Appeal.  Find out more about Eric by clicking HERE.