被驱逐的房东使用:住宅租赁法第49条的最新修订

不列颠哥伦比亚省 住宅租赁法 (RTA)已于今年早些时候收到修正案,主要涉及房东签发的终止租约的通知,理由是他们要求租赁房屋供自用。就像对这两个系列的修正一样 法案 和它的 2017年底,这些修正案主要旨在保护房客的权利和利益,以防止业主签署“撤销条款”(或“真正的”定期租约)并在大多数情况下申请额外的租金增加。

第49条 RTA 允许住宅业主单方面驱逐租户,理由与房东自用有关的以下三个原因:

  • 房东或亲密的家庭成员将占用出租单位。
  • 房东已签订协议出售该单位,买方计划占用出租单位。
  • 房东计划并获得所有必要的许可证,以要求其空置的方式拆除或翻新该单元。

所有这些原因都没有受到修正案的影响。但是,任何第49条驱逐通知,争议机会和赔偿的三项要求都有所增加,有利于租户。

注意 和争议的机会:

此前,所有三个原因的驱逐通知都是两个月,但修正案已将装修或拆除期限延长至四个月。租户必须在此之前上诉这些通知的时间窗口 住宅租赁分部 (RTB)也在收到装修/拆除搬迁通知后延长至30天,前两天则延长15天。

赔偿金

地主有义务向租户支付一个月的租金,因为第49条通知保持不变,但是因为没有提供基于装修/拆除而被逐出被拆迁的租户而被判处新的罚款。第51.2条规定了优先购买权。 -3。优先购买权是指承租人在装修完成后在同一单位签订租赁协议的权利。这个罚款是相当于每月租金的12倍,相当于每月租金的12倍,如果租户证明根据第49条进行的驱逐并非善意发出,即房东没有开始使用该单位在租约结束后的合理时间内,规定至少六个月的用途。

 

通过实施这些严厉的规定,省政府打算遏制地主的违反 RTA,并激励租户在RTB被发现时让他们在RTB解决争议。然而,由于这些修正案的新近性,以及RTB的零星补充 决策数据库,我们还没有阅读一个调用这些更新条款的决定。

最近的决定

然而,关于补偿第49条驱逐的最新决定之一,揭示了房东发出通知的事实,因为他们将返回占领该单位。在 第7033号决定在2017年11月听到,申请人承租人声称房东搬出后没有搬回单位。但是,仲裁员写道:

“...在我看来,租赁单位由房东占用,前提是他们将其用于个人目的,即使该目的仅仅是为了储存个人财产。”

随着更多关于s.49驱逐的决定的出现,公众将能够更好地了解这些争议是如何得到解决的,但是应该记住,RTB决定对未来的听证会没有约束力。

省政府的出租房屋工作组正在全省举办社区会议,以收集进一步修订现有租赁立法的想法,将于2018年秋季向总理和市政事务和住房部长报告。

关于作者:

这是我们的第一篇博文,文章来自文津。温对许多业务领域感兴趣,包括民事诉讼,财产和家庭法。他拥有独特的跨文化视角和技能,在中国北京度过了他的青春时光。他说流利的普通话,并在当地的中文报纸上保留了一个法律教育专栏。点击查看更多有关Wen的信息 这里.

预判装饰订单

Pre-Judgement Garnishing Orders: A pre-judgement garnishing order is an extraordinary remedy that can get money paid into court before a trial, and helps insure that

Read More »

Evicted for Landlord’s Use: Recent Amendments to S.49 of the Residential Tenancy Act

British Columbia’s Residential Tenancy Act (RTA) has received amendments earlier this year, primarily concerning notices to end tenancies issued by landlords on the basis that they require the rental premises for their own use. Like the series of amendments to both the Act and its Regulation in late 2017 that prevent landlords from signing “vacate clauses” (or “true” fixed-term tenancies) and applying for additional rent increases in most circumstances, these amendments mainly aim to protect the rights and interest of tenants.

Section 49 of the RTA allows residential landlords to unilaterally evict tenants on the following three reasons related to landlords’ own use:

  • The landlord, or a close family member, will occupy the rental unit.
  • The landlord has entered into an agreement selling the unit and the buyer plans to occupy the rental unit.
  • The landlord plans, and has obtained all the required permits, to demolish or renovate the unit in a way that requires it to be vacant.

All of these reasons remain untouched by the amendments. However, the three requirements for any s.49 eviction—notice, opportunity to dispute, and compensation—have all been increased in favour of the tenants.

Notice and Opportunity to Dispute:

Previously, the notice for evictions on all three reasons is two months, but the amendment has extended the period for renovation or demolitions to four months. The window of time the tenants have to appeal these notices before the Residential Tenancy Branch (RTB) has also been extended to 30 days after receiving the notice for renovation/demolition evictions, and 15 days for the first two.

Compensation

It is the landlords’ duty to compensate tenants for one month’s rent for s.49 notices remains unchanged, but a new penalty for failing to provide tenants evicted on the basis of renovations/demolitions the right of first refusal has been imposed in s.51.2-3. The right of first refusal refers to the tenant’s right to enter into a tenancy agreement at the same unit after renovations are completed. This penalty is a steep one, equivalent to 12 times the monthly rent, which is also the newly prescribed amount if the tenant proves that an eviction under s.49 was not issued in good faith, i.e. the landlord did not begin using the unit for stated purposes for at least six months, within a reasonable time after ending the tenancy.

 

By implementing these harsh provisions in place, the provincial government intends to curb landlords’ contravention of the RTA, and incentivize tenants to take them to dispute resolution at the RTB when it is discovered. However, owing to the recency of these amendments, as well as the RTB’s sporadic additions to its decision database, we have yet to read a decision that invokes these updated provisions.

Recent Decisions

However, one of the most recent decisions concerning compensation for a s.49 eviction sheds some light on instances where the landlord issues notice on the basis that they will return to occupy the unit. In Decision 7033, heard in November 2017, the applicant tenant alleges that the landlord has not moved back into the unit after she moved out. However, the arbitrator wrote that:

“… In my view a rental unit is occupied by the Landlord providing they are using it for a personal purpose, even if that purpose is simply to store personal property.”

In time, as more decisions concerning s.49 evictions become available, the public will be able to gain a better idea of how these disputes are resolved, but should keep in mind that RTB decisions are not binding on future hearings.

The provincial government’s Rental Housing Task Force is hosting community meetings across the province to gather ideas for further amendments to existing tenancy legislation, which will be reported to the Premier and the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing in fall 2018.

About the Author:

This is our first blog post from articling student, Wen He. Wen is interested in many practice areas including civil litigation, property, and family law. He is equipped with a unique cross-cultural perspective and skillset, having spent his youth in Beijing, China. He speaks Mandarin with native fluency and maintains a legal education column on a local Chinese newspaper. Find out more about Wen by clicking HERE.