视频:工作范围的变化

在任何项目中,无论是大型住宅开发还是小型住宅改造,项目过程中的工作范围经常会发生变化。在一个大型项目中,市政当局可能需要进行变更才能获得批准,或者一个问题,例如基岩位置不方便,可能会变得明显,需要克服才能继续施工。在一个较小的项目中,去除一些墙壁可能会显示以前的翻新,或者在墙壁打开时应该补救的进水或模具的劣质工作。在所有这些假设中,如果承包商没有将这项工作纳入其原始报价和工作范围,那么就必须改变工作范围。

 

当工作范围发生变化时,可能会出现问题,因为工作已在进行中,突然之间需要处理范围变化所带来的不确定性。承包商将希望确保他们为范围变更所需的额外工作获得公平报酬。业主或客户希望确保承包商不利用这种情况,并为额外的工作收取过多的费用。对于双方来说,这可能是一个微妙的情况。房主可能觉得他们被扣为人质,因为他们的房子被走廊拆开,他们不想与承包商发生争执并推迟完成他们的房屋。承包商可能已投入时间和金钱进入项目,并可能担心因改变工作范围而引发争议将阻止或延迟已完成工作的付款。

 

在大型建筑合同中,通常有一名独立顾问在需要改变工作范围时充当中间人。当变更的需要变得明显时,将向承包商发出正式的书面变更单,承包商将正式引用变更,并向顾问提供报价,顾问确定报价是否合理且理论上保护利益双方。如果一方不同意顾问对大额变更单的决定,甚至可能有仲裁条款。

 

对于房主来说,拥有一名独立顾问是成本过高,而住宅项目的变化速度可能很快,特别是如果该项目是一个住宅改造,在最初的拆迁阶段可能会发现一些事情。虽然没有一个小型项目的独立顾问,但各方自己仍然可以通过清晰沟通来帮助避免问题。如果房主想要改变,应该明确指定和描述。如果承包商认为他们被要求做一些未包括在原始工作范围内的事情,那么他们应立即处理该问题,而不是在最终账单之前将其推迟。如果双方同意某些事情是对工作范围的补充,承包商应为该增加准备书面报价 - 这对双方都是公平的,承包商有权获得额外工作的报酬,房主有权知道他们要求的变更将花费多少。

 

虽然最终房主和住宅承包商无法实施大型工作所使用的大量程序,但同样的原则也适用。为了双方的利益,必须在一开始就明确界定工作范围。需要明确界定工作范围的变化,并通过书面变更单以书面形式达成一致,该变更单定义了工作范围的增加,以及完成该增加所应支付的补偿。遵循这些策略应该有助于房主和承包商避免就项目的工作范围发生争议。如果最坏的情况发生,并且确实发生了这样的争议,可能是时候咨询建筑诉讼律师了。 Velletta&Company很乐意协助面临建筑诉讼纠纷的客户,无论他们是房主还是承包商。

 

Cadeyrn Christie是Velletta&Company的民事诉讼律师和商业律师。作为前任商人,企业主和高绩效运动员,Cadeyrn专注于为个人和企业提供动态代表。自加入Velletta&Company以来,Cadeyrn Christie帮助客户在各种有争议的事务中实现具有成本效益的法律解决方案,包括商业纠纷,债务催收,人身伤害诉讼,房地产纠纷和建筑诉讼。 联系Cadeyrn Christie

VIDEO: Changes to Scope of Work

In any project, whether it is a large residential development or a small residential renovation, there are often changes to the scope of work that take place over the course of the project. In a large project a municipality might require changes in order to issue approval, or a problem, such as inconveniently located bedrock, might become apparent that needs to be overcome in order to continue with construction. On a smaller project, gutting some walls might reveal shoddy work from a previous renovation, or water ingress or mould that should be remedied while the wall is open. In all of these hypotheticals, if the contractor did not include this work in their original quote and scope of work, then a change to the scope of work becomes necessary.

 

When there is a change to the scope of work, it can be problematic, because the work is already underway and suddenly there is the need to deal with the uncertainty created by the change in scope. The contractor will want to ensure that they are fairly paid for the additional work required by the change in scope. The owner or client will want to ensure that the contractor does not take advantage of the situation and bill an overly large amount for the additional work. It may be a delicate situation for both parties. The homeowner might feel like they are held hostage because their house is hallway ripped apart and they don’t want to get into a dispute with their contractor and delay the completion of their home. The contractor may have invested time and money into the project and might fear that getting into a dispute over a change to the scope of work will prevent or delay payment for the work already completed.

 

In large construction contracts, there is generally an independent consultant who acts as an intermediary when changes to the scope of work are needed. When the need for a change becomes apparent, a formal written change order will be issued to the contractor, the contractor will formally quote the change, and provide the quote to the consultant, who determines whether the quote is reasonable and in theory protects the interests of both parties. There may even be provisions for arbitration if one party does not agree with the consultant’s decision on a large change order.

 

For homeowners, it is cost prohibitive to have an independent consultant, and the pace of change on a residential project can be rapid, especially if the project is a residential renovation where things might be uncovered during the initial demolition phase. While there is no independent consultant on a smaller project, the parties themselves can still help avoid problems by clearly communicating. If the homeowner wants a change, that should be clearly specified and described. If the contractor thinks they are being asked to do something that was not included in the original scope of work, then they should deal with that issue immediately instead of putting it off until the final bill. Where both parties agree that something is an addition to the scope of work, the contractor should prepare a written quote for that addition – this is fair to both parties, the contractor is entitled to be paid for the extra work, and the homeowner is entitled to know what their requested change is going to cost.

 

While ultimately homeowners and residential contractors cannot implement the extensive procedures that are used on larger jobs, the same principles apply. The scope of work has to be clearly defined at the outset, for the benefit of both parties. Changes to the scope of work need to be clearly defined, and ideally agreed upon in writing through a written change order that defines the addition to the scope of work, and the compensation payable for completing that addition. Following these strategies should help both homeowners and contractors avoid disputes regarding the scope of work on a project. If the worst happens, and such a dispute does arise, it may be time to consult with construction litigation counsel. Velletta & Company is pleased to assist clients facing a construction litigation dispute, whether they are homeowners or contractors.

 

Cadeyrn Christie is a civil litigation lawyer and business lawyer with Velletta & Company. A former tradesperson, business owner, and high performance athlete, Cadeyrn focuses his practice on providing dynamic representation to individuals and businesses.Since joining Velletta & Company, Cadeyrn Christie has helped clients achieve cost effective legal solutions in a wide variety of contentious matters, including business disputes, debt collections, personal injury litigation, real estate disputes, and construction litigation. Contact Cadeyrn Christie