试用期间的终止

根据BC 就业标准法, 被无故终止的雇员有权根据其服务年限获得遣散费或通知期。该 法案 具体规定,员工在就业的前三个月内可以随时终止或无理由终止,且无需遣散费。大多数雇主认为这是一个为期三个月的试用期,在此期间将评估员工是否适合继续就业。

 

此外,许多雇主会将类似性质的试用期纳入书面雇佣合约。虽然这样的规定通常是可以强制执行的,但它不会给雇主 全权委托 随意开火。不列颠哥伦比亚省的法律已经制定,以便在试用期内终止的雇主有义务真诚地这样做。在最近的情况下 Ly诉不列颠哥伦比亚省(内政卫生局),卑诗省最高法院规定了对选择在缓刑期间选择终止的雇主的要求。在这种情况下,原告被聘为管理职位,并在大约两个月的工作后被终止。法院在确定是否真诚地终止时,规定了以下因素。

 

1)试用员工是否了解雇主在就业前或在就业开始时评估适用性的依据;

2)雇主是否公平,合理地评估适用性;

3)员工是否有合理的机会证明其是否适合该职位;和

4)雇主的决定是否基于对员工适合性的诚实,公平和合理的评估,不仅包括工作技能和绩效,还包括性格,判断,兼容性和可靠性。

 

在这种情况下,即使雇员在试用期内被终止,法院也发现他们有权获得合理的通知赔偿金,因为雇主没有向雇员提供公平的机会来证明其适用性。

 

在试用期间终止雇员之前,雇主必须将注意力转向上述原则,因为如果不这样做,可能会导致法院对雇主作出裁决。同样,对于雇员来说,仅仅在试用期内终止这一事实并不一定会对合理的通知损害提出索赔。

如果您需要这个领域的任何帮助,或者有其他问题,请 联系我们。我们在这里帮助您解决这些棘手的情况,并为您提供最佳结果。

Termination during a Probationary Period

According to the BC Employment Standards Act, an employee who is terminated without cause is entitled to severance pay or a period of notice based on their years of service.  The Act specifically provides that Employees in their first three months of employment can be terminated with or without cause at any time, and without severance.  Most employers consider this to be a three month probation period during which the Employee’s suitability for continued employment will be assessed.

 

In addition, many employers will include a probationary period of a similar nature into a written employment contract.  Although such a provision will typically be enforceable, it will not give the employer carte blanche to fire at will.  The law in British Columbia has developed so as to place an obligation on the employer who terminates during a probation period to do so in good faith.  In the recent case of Ly v. British Columbia (Interior Health Authority), the BC Supreme Court set out requirements placed on an employer who chooses to terminate during a period of probation.  In tis case, the plaintiff was hired in a managerial role and was terminated after approximately two months of employment.  The court set out the following factors to be considered in determining whether the termination was made in good faith.

 

1)      whether the probationary employee was made aware of the basis for the employer’s assessment of suitability before, or at the commencement of, employment;

2)      whether the employer acted fairly and with reasonable diligence in assessing suitability;

3)      whether the employee was given a reasonable opportunity to demonstrate his suitability for the position; and

4)      whether the employer’s decision was based on an honest, fair and reasonable assessment of the suitability of the employee, including not only job skills and performance but also character, judgment, compatibility, and reliability.

 

In this case, even though the employee was terminated during the probationary period, the court found that they were entitled to reasonable notice damages because the employer had not provided the employee with a fair opportunity to demonstrate their suitability.

 

Before terminating an employee during a probationary period, it is important that the employer turn their mind to the above principles, as failure to do so could result in a court award made against the employer.  Similarly, for employees, the mere fact that the termination took place during a probationary period will not necessarily bar a claim for reasonable notice damages.

Should you need any assistance with this area, or have further questions, please contact us. We are here to help you navigate tricky situations such as these ones and get you the best possible outcome.