最近的上诉法院对无保险驾车人士福利的裁决

本月早些时候,上诉法院公布了其决定 Schoenhalz诉不列颠哥伦比亚省保险公司, 2017 BCCA 289 。在这种情况下,法院根据第20条的规定,考虑了无保险驾驶者福利的可用性 保险(车辆)法。

在不列颠哥伦比亚省,所有驾驶者都必须携带至少最低数量的第三方责任保险。这意味着当某人因疏忽操作的机动车辆而受伤时,受害方几乎总是可以依靠可用的资金池来获得赔偿金。第20节 保险(车辆)法 在我们的强制保险制度中,基本上是故障保险 - 对于那些驾驶员没有保险的罕见情况,受害方可以申请第20条福利,以填补无法从疏忽驾驶者那里恢复的空白。但是,正如本案例所示,第20节的好处有其自身的局限性需要注意。

第91节 保险(车辆)法 在某些情况下限制恢复:

与被盗车辆有关的恢复限制

91 (1)本条适用于某人

(a)因使用或操作车辆而造成的人身伤害,死亡或财产损失或损坏,及

(b)在意外发生人身伤害,死亡或财产损失或损坏的事故发生时,该人是车辆的经营者或乘客,而该人是知道或应当已经知道未经业主同意而经营,而对于租赁的机动车,则为承租人。

(2)尽管如此 疏忽法案 和该法案第100节,

(b)第(1)款所提述的人无权根据第20条从法团获得任何追讨。

基本上,如果受害方是他们所知道的车辆中的乘客,或者应该知道在未经车主同意的情况下进行操作,则他们被禁止提出第20条索赔。在这种情况下,工商银行成功地辩称原告无权获得第20条福利。事故发生时,她17岁,是一名乘坐15岁车辆的乘客。在审判时,法官发现,由于原告的年龄较小,她无法想到车辆是否未经同意驾驶,因此她不会被禁止按照第20条进行追讨。

上诉法院不同意,并认为在原告的情况下,一个合理的人应该知道该车辆是在未经同意的情况下驾驶的。

这是一个重要的案例,因为它澄清了在考虑第91节例外时要遵循的测试。法院将遵循一个 目的 考虑到原告的情况应该知道什么是合理的人,而不是审判法官采用的主观方法。

Recent Court of Appeal Ruling on Uninsured Motorist Benefits

Earlier this month, the Court of Appeal released its decision in Schoenhalz v. Insurance Corporation of British Columbia, 2017 BCCA 289 .  In that case, the court considered the availability of uninsured motorist benefits pursuant to section 20 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act.

In British Columbia, all motorists are required to carry at least a minimum amount of third party liability insurance.  This means that when someone is injured as a result of a negligently operated motor vehicle, the injured party can almost always count on a pool of funding to be available from which they may recover an award of damages.  Section 20 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act essentially acts as a failsafe in our mandatory insurance regime – for those rare cases where the motorist is uninsured, the injured party may make a claim for Section 20 benefits to fill in the gap where recovery from the negligent motorist is not possible.  However, as this case shows, Section 20 benefits have their own limitations to be aware of.

Section 91 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act limits recovery in certain cases:

Limitation on recovery in relation to stolen vehicles

91 (1) This section applies to a person who

(a) suffered bodily injury, death or loss of or damage to property that is caused by the use or operation of a vehicle, and

(b) at the time of the accident as a result of which the bodily injury, death or loss of or damage to property was suffered, was an operator of, or a passenger in or on, a vehicle that the person knew or ought to have known was being operated without the consent of the owner, and, in the case of a leased motor vehicle, the lessee.

(2) Despite the Negligence Act and section 100 of this Act,

(b) a person referred to in subsection (1) is not entitled to any recovery from the corporation under section 20.

Essentially, an injured party is barred from making a section 20 claim if they were a passenger in a vehicle that they knew, or ought to have known was being operated without the owner’s consent.  In this case, ICBC was successful in arguing that the plaintiff was not entitled to section 20 benefits.  At the time of the accident, she was 17 years old, and was a passenger in a vehicle driven by a 15-year-old.  At trial, the judge found that because of the plaintiff’s young age, she couldn’t have turned her mind to whether or not the vehicle was driven without consent, and therefore she was not barred from recovering pursuant to section 20.

The Court of Appeal disagreed, and found that a reasonable person in the plaintiff’s circumstances ought to have known that the vehicle was driven without consent.

This is an important case, as it clarifies the test to be followed when considering the section 91 exception.  The court is to follow an objective approach, considering what a reasonable person in the plaintiff’s circumstances ought to know, as a opposed to the subjective approach employed by the trial judge.