Common_Law_Spouse

普通法配偶的含义是什么?

加拿大和不列颠哥伦比亚省的许多人在合法结婚之前住在一起。有些人住在一起,但从未打算结婚。然而,对于所有这些情况下的人来说,重要的是要了解他们的关系何时根据不列颠哥伦比亚省的法律被视为“婚姻式”。这是因为,如果关系破裂,“婚姻式”的定义在确定什么是什么,什么不是什么时变得很重要,被认为是家庭财产。

 

根据不列颠哥伦比亚省的省立法, 家庭法法案 (FLA),一个人被认为是 伴侣 另一个人,如果这两个人连续两年生活在“婚姻关系”中,或者如果他们有一个孩子在一起。如果您是普通法配偶或合法婚姻伴侣,并且关系破裂,则关系变为“婚姻状态”的日期是所有获得的财产是家庭财产的日期。[一世]

 

这看起来似乎相当简单,但现代时代正在发生变化,某些“婚姻关系”的指标正在发生变化。例如,不列颠哥伦比亚省的法院通过单独的财务和有时分开的住房,发现夫妇越来越独立。重要的是,双方都要明白他们的关系何时“像婚姻一样”,以便他们能够在必要时采取措施,以便在分离时保护他们的利益。

 

以下是法院强调的一个特征,即一对夫妇是否会被视为“婚姻般的”关系:

  • 各方如何打算在社会中描绘自己?
    • 他们打算结婚吗?
    • 朋友们相信他们打算永远在一起吗?
  • 他们有一个健康的亲密生活吗?
    • 如果他们不亲密,他们是否以其他方式彼此亲热?
  • 他们一起参加社交活动了吗?
  • 双方是否住在同一屋檐下?
  • 什么是睡眠安排?
  • 有没有人占用或分享可用的住宿?
  • 双方在以下方面的行为和习惯是什么:
    • 准备饭菜,
    • 洗衣服,
    • 购物,
    • 家居维修,
    • 还有其他国内服务吗?
  • 他们一起或分开参与社区和社区活动吗?
  • 他们每个人对各自家庭成员的关系和行为是什么?这些家庭如何对待各方?
  • 社区对每一个人和一对夫妇的态度和行为是什么?
  • 双方就生活必需品(食品,衣服,住所,娱乐场所等)的提供或贡献有何财务安排?
  • 有关收购和拥有财产的安排是什么?
  • 他们之间是否有任何特殊的财务安排,双方同意将决定他们的整体关系?
  • 各方对儿童的态度和行为是什么?

 

 

例如,在的情况下 韦伯诉勒克莱尔上诉人在2015年BCCA 492中寻求声明,即当事人不是配偶的目的 家庭法法案,因为他们没有生活在“婚姻般的关系”。在对她面前的证据进行评估之后,法官得出结论认为这种关系是“婚姻般的”,尽管这对夫妇在他们的关系中分离了他们的财务状况。上诉人提出上诉,辩称法官误判了婚姻关系的法律检验,并未能适当考虑上诉人关于她不打算生活在这种关系中的说法。举行:上诉被驳回。法官采用了正确的法律测试,她的调查结果有权得到尊重。根据审判法官提供的客观证据和适当的推论,她发现这对夫妇处于婚姻关系中并没有错。

 

此外,在的情况下 SLMW诉MRGW。,2016 BCSC 272申请人和被申请人拥有并维持两个住所。作为一个法律问题,确定各方可以维持两个住所,并且仍然处于婚姻关系中。在这种情况下,被告人为工作目的维持了一个单独的住所,这一事实并没有否定法院认定他们处于婚姻关系中。

 

正如你所看到的那样,当一段关系变成“婚姻般的”时,理解可能并不是直截了当的。 Velletta和公司是一家提供全面服务的律师事务所,如果您在这方面需要帮助,或希望签订同居或婚姻协议,请与我们联系。

[一世] 这受到一些被称为排除属性的例外情况的限制。请注意,如果双方在他们生活在“婚姻式”关系之前结婚,那么这就是获得财产成为家庭财产的日期。

 

翡翠弗雷泽 在桑列根湖长大,非常自豪地称维多利亚为她的家。在完成法律教育之前,她在不列颠哥伦比亚大学完成了本科学位,获得了理学学士学位。在沙特阿拉伯和法国等地居住之后,Jade获得了一系列独特的经历,这有助于她决定出国旅游以寻求法律教育。

Pet_Custody_Case
家规

谁得到了宠物?

Most pet owners consider their pet to be a member of their family and not just another piece of property. Normally when separating from your

Read More »

Common_Law_Spouse

What is the meaning of a Common Law Spouse?

Many people in Canada and British Columbia live together before becoming legally married. Some people live together while never having the intention of becoming married. It is important, however, for people in all of these circumstances to understand when their relationship is considered ‘marriage-like’ pursuant to the laws of British Columbia. This is because, if a relationship breaks down the definition of ‘marriage- like’ becomes important in determining what is, and what is not, considered family property.

 

Under the provincial legislation of British Columbia, the Family Law Act (FLA), a person is considered a spouse of another person if those two people have lived in a ‘marriage-like relationship’ for a continuous period of two years or, if they have a child together.  If you are a common-law spouse or a legally married spouse and the relationship breaks down, the date the relationship became ‘marriage-like’ is the date all acquired property is family property.[i]

 

This seems as though it is fairly straightforward, however modern times are changing and certain indicators of what a ‘marriage like relationship’ is are evolving.  For example, the courts of British Columbia have found couples are becoming more and more independent of each other by having separate finances and sometimes separate homes. It is important that both parties understand when their relationship is “marriage-like” so that they can undergo steps, if they wish, to protect their interest in the event of seperation.

 

The following are highlighted characteristics from the courts as to whether or not a couple will be considered in a “marriage like” relationship:

  • How do the parties intend to portray themselves in society?
    • Did they intend to get married?
    • Did friends believe they intended to be together forever?
  • Did they have a healthy intimate life?
    • If they weren’t intimate, were they affectionate to each other in other ways?
  • Did they partake in social activities together?
  • Did the parties live under the same roof?
  • What were the sleeping arrangements?
  • Did anyone else occupy or share the available accommodation?
  • What was the conduct and habit of the parties in relation to:
    • Preparation of meals,
    • Washing and mending clothes,
    • Shopping,
    • Household maintenance,
    • Any other domestic services?
  • Did they participate together or separately in neighbourhood and community activities?
  • What was the relationship and conduct of each of them towards members of their respective families and how did such families behave towards the parties?
  • What was the attitude and conduct of the community towards each of them and as a couple?
  • What were the financial arrangements between the parties regarding the provision of or contribution towards the necessaries of life (food, clothing, shelter, recreation, etc.)?
  • What were the arrangements concerning the acquisition and ownership of property?
  • Was there any special financial arrangement between them which both agreed would be determinant of their overall relationship?
  • What was the attitude and conduct of the parties concerning children?

 

 

For example, in the case of Weber v. Leclerc, 2015 BCCA 492 the appellant sought a declaration that the parties were not spouses for the purposes of the Family Law Act, on the basis that they had not lived in a “marriage-like relationship”. After evaluating the evidence before her, the judge concluded that the relationship was “marriage-like”, notwithstanding that the couple separated their finances throughout their relationship. The appellant appealed, arguing that the judge misapplied the legal test for a marriage-like relationship, and failed to give proper weight to the appellant’s assertions that she did not intend to live in such a relationship. Held: Appeal dismissed. The judge applied the correct legal test, and her findings are entitled to deference. In light of the objective evidence and the proper inferences drawn by the trial judge, she made no error in finding that the couple were in a marriage-like relationship.

 

Further, in the case of S.L.M.W. v. M.R.G.W., 2016 BCSC 272 the applicant and respondent owned and maintained two residences. As a matter of law, it is established that parties can maintain two residences and still be in a marriage-like relationship. In this case, the respondent maintained a separate residence for work purposes and this fact did not negate the court finding them to be in a marriage-like relationship.

 

As you can see understanding when a relationship becomes ‘marriage-like’ may not be straight forward. Velletta and company is a full service law firm and if you need assistance in this area, or wish to form a cohabitation or marriage agreement, please contact us.

[i] This is subject to some exceptions known as excluded property. Please note that if the parties married before they were living in a ‘marriage-like’ relationship then that is the date acquired property becomes family property.

 

Jade Fraser grew up in Shawnigan Lake and is very proud to call Victoria her home. Before pursuing her education in law, she completed her undergraduate degree at the University of British Columbia obtaining a Bachelor of Science. After living in places such as Saudi Arabia and France, Jade gained a unique set of experiences which contributed to her decision to travel abroad in pursuit of her legal education.